uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

10 km later Spilak went alone and that was the last Intxausti and Dennis would see of him. They were swallowed up by the chasing peloton on the penultimate climb of the race.

Photo: Team Katusha






30.03.2013 @ 20:12 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Simon Spilak made it the perfect day for Katusha by taking the GP Miguel Indurain on Saturday thus following up on Rüdiger Selig’s win earlier at the Volta Limburg Classic.


In the hilly terrain he broke clear with 11 other riders early on and as that group disintegrated with some 100 km to go, Spilak was one in a trio who took to the front. With 40 km he discharged his two fellow breakaway companions and soloed to what must surely be regarded as the most prestigious win of his career.


Starting and finishing in the Basque town of Estella, the race is 181 km long and has a short but steep uphill finish on the Basilica del Puy.


Barely 30 km into the race 12 riders managed to escape the clutches of the peloton: Simon Spilak, Beñat Intxausti (Movistar), Javier Moreno (Movistar), Mikel Landa (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Rohan Dennis (Garmin Sharp), Cristiano Salerno (Cannondale), Karol Domagalski (Caja Rural), Wilson Marentes (Colombia), Igor Merino (Euskadi), Jesse Anthony (Team Optum p/b Benefit Strategies), Juan Chamorro (4-72 Colombia) and Ever Rivera (4-72 Colombia).


With 100 km to go the front group was split as Intxausti, Dennis and Spilak broke free and built up a 2 minute lead over the next 50 km.


10 km later Spilak went alone and that was the last Intxausti and Dennis would see of him. They were swallowed up by the chasing peloton on the penultimate climb of the race.


Nobody would catch Spilak who claimed a well-deserved win leaving the spoils to Igor Anton and Daniel Stetina who rounded up the podium of the day.



1 Simon Spilak - Katusha 4.50.46

2 Igor Anton - Euskaltel-Euskadi 1.32”

3 Daniel Stetina - Garmin Sharp 1.34”

4 Alejandro Valverde - Movistar 1.49”

5 Giampaolo Caruso – Katusha

6 Roman Kreuziger - Saxo-Tinkoff 1.54”

7 Danail Petrov - Caja Rural

8 Alberto Losada - Katusha

9 Daniele Ratto - Cannondale 1.57”

10 Angel Vicioso - Katusha 1.58”




What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
23 years | today
Massimiliano GRAZIA
39 years | today
28 years | today
Christopher TASSELL
35 years | today