uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“To have nine of the best cycling teams in the world travelling to Victoria is fantastic and I am sure like last time they will enjoy the challenges and unique style of racing that our course and conditions provide. I can’t wait...

Photo: Sirotti






01.12.2015 @ 09:30 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

A stellar line up of UCI WorldTour teams were today confirmed to ride in the elite men’s Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race on 31 January 2016.


Joining the previously announced BMC Racing (USA), ORICA-GreenEDGE (AUS) and Team Sky (GBR) will be Team Katusha (RUS), Trek Factory Racing (USA) and IAM Cycling (SUI) who all return after the racing the inaugural edition this year.


Lotto-Soudal (BEL) and Team LottoNL-Jumbo (NED) will make their debut appearances whilst the WorldTour lineup is completed by exciting new top level outfit Team Dimension Data (RSA) who raced as pro-continental team MTN Qhubeka in 2015.


Making the announcement today, Minister for Sport, Major Events and Tourism, John Eren said he was looking forward to welcoming the teams to Victoria.


“We look forward to welcoming all UCI WorldTour teams to Victoria to experience the iconic Bellarine Peninsula and Surf Coast.


“A special welcome to Lotto-Soudal and Team LottoNL-Jumbo who will be competing in the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race for the first time.


“Competition will be fierce, with the British powerhouse Team Sky looking to turn its top five finish in the inaugural race to a podium finish in 2016 and Team Katusha looking to start its year off well after finishing ranked number two in 2015 on the UCI WorldTour calendar,” Minister Eren said.


Also announced was the five pro continental teams that will form part of the race – UnitedHealthcare (USA), ONE Pro Cycling (GBR), Drapac Professional Cycling (AUS), Team Novo Nordisk (USA) and CCC Sprandi Polkowice (POL) along with the Australian National Team.


Cadel Evans who rode his last race as a professional cyclist in the inaugural event in February this year said he was looking forward to watching the teams battle it out.


“To have nine of the best cycling teams in the world travelling to Victoria is fantastic and I am sure like last time they will enjoy the challenges and unique style of racing that our course and conditions provide. I can’t wait to see it unfold,” Evans said.


BMC Racing Team confirmed 2015 Tour Down Under, USA Pro Challenge winner, Tour de France stage winner and current Australian cyclist of the year, Rohan Dennis, will be competing in the elite men’s race.


“After seeing the inaugural race earlier this year, I can’t wait to be part of it in January 2016,” Dennis said.


“I’m looking forward to starting the season off in Australia, and where better than along the Great Ocean Road in Victoria being cheered on by a passionate Aussie crowd.”


Also confirmed to race in the ORICA-GreenEDGE team is Simon Gerrans, the first Australian to win a stage in each of the three Grand Tours.


“Having been sidelined for the Australian season at the beginning of this year I’m really looking forward to being back amongst it and racing in front of Aussie crowds again next year,” Gerrans said.


“The Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race is a Classics parcours and that style of racing suits my characteristics well.”


The remainder of the field will be made up of UCI Continental Teams and will be announced when the UCI Continental licences are approved in early January 2016.



Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58

Currently no news in this list

Philip WEBER
23 years | today
28 years | today
23 years | today
30 years | today
Robert SCOTT
23 years | today