uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"I knew I had to take one of the last turns in the front. I took all the risks  and sprinted before the turn. Albasini did the same and we entered too fast and he crashed."

Photo: ©Tim De Waele/TDW Sport




29.06.2015 @ 15:08 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Danilo Wyss captured the BMC Racing Team's second national title of the week by winning the Swiss road race Sunday in Steinmaur.

Wyss powered his BMC teammachine SLR01 past Sébastien Reichenbach (IAM Cycling) to win his first race since 2009. Mathias Frank (IAM Cycling) finished third in the 192-kilometer race.

"I tried to attack Michael Albasini (ORICA-GreenEDGE) with two kilometers to go because I knew he was really fast and really good on this type of finish," Wyss said. "It was a tricky finish because the last kilometer was a bit downhill and then there were two 90-degree turns. I knew I had to take one of the last turns in the front. I took all the risks  and sprinted before the turn. Albasini did the same and we entered too fast and he crashed."

Wyss's title added to the Swiss national time trial title won by teammate Silvan Dillier on Wednesday. Dillier finished fourth in Sunday's race, 19 seconds back.

BMC Racing Team Sport Director Fabio Baldato said hard work done by five riders from the BMC Development Team was instrumental in helping Wyss take the win. They combined to bring back a dangerous breakaway that included defending Swiss national road champion Martin Elmiger (IAM Cycling).

"We had two teams here, but they really raced like one today," Baldato said. "All of the guys from the Development Team were working to give everything for the other guys. It was very impressive. Michael Schär completed the job in the last 30 kilometers and we brought back the breakaway 10 kilometers from the finish."

Wyss's victory was the third of his professional career that began in 2008 and has been spent entirely with the BMC Racing Team. His last win came in June of 2009, when he took the opening stage of the Tour de Beauce in Canada.

Two other BMC Racing Team riders medaled in national road race competition Sunday.

In Germany, Marcus Burghardt finished third behind Emanuel Buchmann (Bora-Argon 18) and Nikias Arndt (Team Giant-Alpecin). It was a season-best result for Burghardt and his first medal in nationals competition since turning professional in 2005.

In Belgium, Greg Van Avermaet soloed to third place as Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen) won a two-up sprint against Jürgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal). It was also Van Avermaet's first career medal in professional nationals competition.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
Mariusz OLESEK
37 years | today
Daniel ELIAD
36 years | today
39 years | today
36 years | today