uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Today's 120 km long stage 2 of Le Tropicale Amissa Bongo was won by Wanty - Groupe Gobert rider Jerome Baugnies, who outsprinted Luis Leon Sanchez and Natnael Berhane








14.01.2014 @ 17:42 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Today, Jerome Baugnies (Wanty - Groupe Gobert) took his second consecutive victory of his career, as he outsprinted race leader Luis Leon Sanchez (Caja Rural) and Natnael Berhane (MTN-Qhubeka). Songezo Jim earned himself the most aggressive rider of the stage.


Today’s second stage of the African race La Tropicale Amissa Bongo was 120 km long. The profile showed some hills, but no special climbs. Frenchman Jerome Baugnies took his first victory with the new Team Wanty - Groupe Gobert as the sprint ended in Oyem in Gabon. This was also the first ever victory for Wanty - Groupe Gobert.  


The day started with a few breakaway attempts, but a real breakaway was formed after 20 km. In the breakaway were five men including Songezo Jim (MTN-Qhubeka) and Omar Fraile (Caja Rural). They slowly got away from the peloton, but Songenzo Jim didn’t feel to be caught by the peloton and decided to attack the breakaway group with only 10 km to go.


He wasn’t alone though. Caja Rural rider Omar Fraile wanted to be a part of Songezo Jim’s attack and moved with him. They agreed on cooperating with each other and take the sprint at last, but they couldn’t hold the fast peloton behind them. With only 5 km to the finish line, Songezo Jim and Omar Fraile were caught and the final scene was settled for a sprint.


The sprint was close, but Jerome Baugnies was the first man from the peloton to cross the finish line. Right after him was Luis Leon Sanchez, who won enough bonus seconds to wear the leader’s jersey again tomorrow. The last place on the podium was once again taken by MTN-Qhubeka rider Natnael Berhane.  


The green jersey is still held by Spaniard Luis Leon Sanchez, while the polka dot jersey has found a new owner. Omar Fraile was the first over the intermediate KOM sprints and is in the lead by 4 points to yesterday’s wearer Lluis Bonet. Florian Senechal is still in front of the youth classification and neither has nothing changed in the teams classification.



1 Jérôme Baugnies 2:54:25
2 Luis Leon Sanchez
3 Natnael Berhane
4 Roy Jans
5 Meron Amanuel
6 Giovanni Bernaudeau
7 Salah Eddine Mraouni
8 Metkel Eyob
9 Florian Senechal
10 Reda Aadel                            


General Classification:

1 Luis Leon Sanchez 6:26:44
2 Egoitz Garcia 0:00:05
3 Natnael Berhane 0:00:08
4 Linus Gerdemann 0:00:16
5 Grégory Habeaux
6 Fabrice Jeandesboz 00:00:20
7 Jérôme Baugnies 0:00:53
8 Florian Senechal 0:01:02
9 Giovanni Bernaudeau 0:03:02
10 Salah Eddine Mraouni


Points Classification:

1 Luis Leon Sanchez 57
2 Natnael Berhane 50
3 Jerome Baugnies 47
4 Egoitz Garcia 33
5 Linus Gerdemann 33            


Mountains Classification:

1 Omar Fraile 10
2 Lluis Bonet 6
3 Marco Minnaard 6
4 Songezo Jim 6
5 Salah Eddine Mraouni 5


Youth Classification:

1 Florian Senechal 6:27:46
2 Salah Eddine Mraouni 00:02:00
3 Metkel Eyob
4 Adil Barbari 00:09:10
5 Bonaventure Uwizeyimana 00:18:12


Teams Classification:

1 Team Europcar 19:23:50
2 Wanty - Groupe Gobert 00:00:49
3 Cofidis 00:16:37
4 MTN-Qhubeka 00:18:44
5 Morocco 00:21:12



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

35 years | today
31 years | today
35 years | today
Melvin Van ZIJL
32 years | today
47 years | today