uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Garmin-Sharp sprinter benefits from hard work from Drapac Professional Cycling and a late crash to take a convincing win ahead of Giacoppo and Jones at the Australian Criterium Championships

Photo: Sirotti






09.01.2014 @ 16:48 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Steele Von Hoff gave Garmin-Sharp a perfect start to the year when the sprinter overcame the lack of team support to win the Australian Criterium Championships. Having stayed in the peloton for most of the day while Drapac Professional Cycling, he avoided a late crash before launching a fierce sprint to hold off Anthony Giacoppo and Brenton Jones in convincing fashion.


Yesterday Garmin-Sharp was left disappointed when Rohan Dennis missed a big opportunity to become Australian time trial champion due to bad crash that left him with a hematoma on his hip and a swollen ankle. Today the team's sprinter Steele Von Hoff made amends when he added the Australian criterium championships to his palmares.


With no teammates for support, Von Hoff found himself in a difficult tactical situation as he was up against the 9 riders from Drapac Professional Cycling and a big contingent from the Avanti team. However, he was lucky that both teams were intent to set it up for a sprint finish and so he could save himself for the final dash to the line.


Things kicked off with an attack from defending champion Cameron Meyer who was the only Orica-GreenEDGE rider to start the race but the move was quickly neutralized by the Drapac team. The newly promoted  pro-continental had skipped the recent Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic in favour of a training camp and had high ambitions for the race.


This showed in the early part of the race, with the team controlling the peloton strictly. Team sprinter Jonathan Cantwell was leading the troops, hoping to take his second win in the race.


The other big team, Avanti, sat back and allowed Drapac to do the work but when the red-clad team launched Adam Phelan into a five-rider move, the Avanti guys had to kick into action. Patrick Shaw was also part of the move and used his lengthy spell off the front to secure the sprints jersey in the race.


"My plan was to win the bike race. I am in the best form that I've had for years. I wanted to give myself a chance for a result tonight. Unfortunately a big crash at the end derailed me, otherwise I'd be guarantee a top five spot," he said. "I am very proud how of my guys raced tonight. They were really riding well. We don't have the respect this team yet, but we are gaining it very quickly."


When the group was caught, Meyer tried his hand for a second time but with no success. Chris Jory was the last rider to launch an attack but when Drapac brought him back, all was set for a big sprint finish.


Disaster struck for Drapac when a crash brought down Cantwell, Robbie Hucker and Phelan, holding up several riders who last all hopes of glory. Von Hoff was lucky to avoid the carnage and was one of the few who contested the sprint for the green and gold jersey.


Here the Garmin-Sharp rider was in a league of his own, convincingly beating Avant's Anthony Giacoppo into 2nd. Youngster Brenton Jones who had impressed the Australian cycling elite by winning the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic, continued his good run of form by making it onto the final podium. Meyer proved that he can sprint surprisingly well by taking fourth.


The Australian championships ends this weekend when the U23 and women's road races take place on Saturday and the men's race being held on Sunday.



1. Steele Von Hoff 1.00.55

2. Anthony Giacoppo +0.02

3. Brenton Jones

4. Cameron Meyer +0.04

5. Michael Fitzgerald

6. Rico Rogers

7. Neil Van Der Ploeg

8. Allan Davis

9. Craig Hutton

10. Darren Lapthorne +0.08



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
25 years | today
28 years | today
33 years | today
Eléonore SARAIVA
33 years | today