uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

In doing so, he picked up his first victory since a stage win in the USA Pro Cycling Challenge last August, and showed that even at the age of 41 he still has the ambitions and strength to break clear and keep a chasing pack at arm’s...

Photo: ASO


17.05.2013 @ 10:02 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Jens Voigt (RadioShack-Leopard) raced home alone to take a thrilling victory on day five of the Tour of California, breaking clear just over five km from the finish of the stage to Avila Beach.

Quickly creating a gap and then increasing his advantage as the chasers dithered, the charismatic and often outspoken German powered home six seconds ahead of Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp), Thor Hushovd (BMC Racing Team), Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling) and ten others who formed a select group.

In doing so, he picked up his first victory since a stage win in the USA Pro Cycling Challenge last August, and showed that even at the age of 41 he still has the ambitions and strength to break clear and keep a chasing pack at arm’s length.

Crosswinds played a huge role on the stage and several riders lost out when they were caught sleeping by echelons sparked off by Voigt and his RadioShack Leopard team with 55km to go. Those who finished in the peloton included overall leader Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle (Jamis - Hagens Berman) and third-placed Philip Deignan (UnitedHealthcare), and despite hard chasing by their teams, they would reach the line one minute seven seconds back.

As a result, Acevedo dropped to third, 50 seconds back, while Deignan is a further two places and 27 seconds down.

Both had hoped to take their previous positions into tomorrow’s time trial, but will instead be scrabbling to try to make up for their loss today.

Voigt crossed the finish to huge cheers. Behind, Hushovd beat Farrar and Sagan for second. Van Garderen finished safely in this group, while the yellow jersey bunch rolled in over a minute back. This ensured the BMC Racing Team rider lost his race lead, dropping to third, and Philip Deignan (United Healthcare) slipped from third to fifth.

Result, stage 5:

1. Jens Voigt (RadioShack Leopard) 186 kilometres in 4 hours 41 mins 16 secs
2. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp) at 6 secs
3. Thor Hushovd (BMC Racing Team)
4. Peter Sagan (Cannondale Pro Cycling)
5. Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEdge)
6. Jay McCarthy (Team Saxo-Tinkoff)
7. Alexander Candelario (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
8. Michael Rogers (Team Saxo-Tinkoff)
9. Markel Irizar Aranburu (RadioShack Leopard)
10. Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing Team)

General classification after stage 5:

1. Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing Team) 21 hours 55 mins 32 secs
2. Michael Rogers (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) 42”
3. Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle (Jamis - Hagens Berman) 50”
4. Matthew Busche (RadioShack Leopard)  1’ 4”
5. Philip Deignan (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team) 1’17”
6. Cameron Meyer (Orica-GreenEdge) 1’ 29”
7. Mathias Frank (BMC Racing Team) 1’ 35”
8. Francisco Mancebo Perez (5 Hour Energy p/b Kenda) 1’ 53”
9. Chad Haga (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) 2’ 3”
10. Lawson Craddock (Bontrager Cycling Team) 2’ 22”



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
Cathalijne HOOLWERF
24 years | today
Michael-Dean PEPPER
40 years | today
45 years | today
Matias Emanuel DOMINGUEZ
37 years | today