uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

After an exciting duel, van der Poel beat van Aert in the Superprestige race in Ruddervoorde; Sweeck completed the podium and van der Poel extended the overall lead








06.11.2016 @ 17:04 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Mathieu van der Poel also won the third round of the Superprestige in Ruddervoorde. He was the strongest in a captivating duel with his arch-rival Wout Van Aert who had to let the Dutchman go after a fatal bike change and then had a mechanical in the final part of the race. After previous victories in both Zonhoven as Gieten, Van der Poel of course leads in the standings. Van Aert was second in every race and is just 3 points behind. Laurens Sweeck finished third and is also third overall.


Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel slkippted the Soudal Classics race in Sint-Niklaas on Saturday. After the off-day of the Dutchman in the Koppenbergcross where he was only 15th, Van der Poel had to make things right. However, it was the world champion who immediately took the initiative on in Ruddervoorde where there were constant turns. Michael Vanthournhout was in the wheel of the world champion while Mathieu van der Poel had to pull the chestnuts out of the fire but ended up in front in the second lap.


Van der Poel threw his gloves off and hit the sand as the first rider. Van Aert chose a different line and a big gap opened up. The two stars had gone away and so we got the expected and anticipated clash. Behind them, the others had to fight for the minor places.


Mathieu van der Poel zigzagged as an accomplished skier through the corners while it was difficult for Wout van Aert. The two stars made a thrilling duel because Van Aert continued to put the Dutchman under pressure and at the start of the fourth lap there was a gap of four seconds


In a huge duel, the difference was small but both of them made mistakes on the tough course. Just before halfway point, Van Aert got back. Laurens Sweeck was third at more than twenty seconds and Lars van der Haar was in fourth.


In the sand section, Van Aert got a gap of a few bike lengths. The two charts fought hard for every inch and the spectators were treated to a great duel between the Big Two.


In the fifth lap, Van Aert opted for a bike change, allowing Van der Poel again to get a few seconds. The Dutchman did not hesitate and immediately increased his lead. At the start of the seventh lap, Van Aert was six seconds behind.


It got even more exciting when Van der Poel crashed. But the Dutchman remained calm, barely lost time and then rode away again. It was even too fast as he slipped out in a later turn. Van Aert got back to only two seconds but Van der Poel did not look back, accelerated again, and kept the world champion at bay.


In the last lap, Van der Poel made no mistakes and soloed to victory. He succeeds Kevin Pauwels who beat the youngster in last year’s race but had to be content with fourth place. Van Aert was set back by a mechanical and settled for second place. Laurens Sweeck was third, one minute behind Van der Poel.



1. Mathieu van der Poel

2. Wout van Aet

3. Laurens Sweeck

4. Kevin Pauwels

5. Jens Adams

6. Toon Aerts.

7. David van der Poel

8. Tim Merlier

9. Klaas Vantornout

10. Dieter Vanthourenhout


Overall standings

1. Mathieu van der Poel 45

2. Wout Van Aert 42

3. Laurens Sweeck 39

4. Jens Adams 33

5. Klaas Vantornout 28



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

31 years | today
35 years | today
Francisco Jose CASAUS
29 years | today
Freddy COLOP
35 years | today
Daniela ARIAS
28 years | today