uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

For the second day in a row, van der Poel came out on top in a thrilling duel at the World Cup race in Namur; Pauwels again completed the podium

Photo: Thomas Nyhus / Rawshooter








18.12.2016 @ 16:36 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

After the Scheldecross on Saturday, Mathieu van der Poel also proved to be the strongest in Namur. He won the World Cross in and around the Namur Citadel after a smart race. Wout Van Aert had to be content with second place after three costly mistakes. He crashed twice in the same place and also came to a standstill on a climb. He remains in the lead of the World Cup.


Wout van Aert defended his big lead in the World Cup in Namur. Because of the injuries of Mathieu van der Poel at the beginning of the season, the Dutchman is far behind in the overall standings but van der Poel showed that he is currently the strongest with his win on Saturday at the Scheldecross.


The pair battled it out again in Namur and this weekend he cyclo-cross fans got everything they could ask for. The two started started the race well, but Van Aert was already on the ground in the first lap. He slipped out in a technical section, allowing van der Poel to get a first gap. Van Aert quickly got bag but in the second lap, he again had a problem.


Van der Poel pulled through and got another gap but a strong Van Aert didn’t give up. In the fourth lap, he again latched onto van der Poel and Tom Meeusen, but then he made a third mistake. Van Aert’s handlebars hit the barrier and he had to let the duo go. Van der Poel was not faultless though and his lead of 17 seconds melted away.


Tom Meeusen had alreadyblown up, but Kevin Pauwels showed his good form for the second day in a row. He got back into the game as a third contender but like in the Scheldecross he was happy with third place. Van Aert and Van der Poel attacked each other in the final lap. The stars stayed together for a long time but on the climb in the foresy, van der Poel finally made the difference. He arrived solo at the finish ahead of Wout Van Aert and Kevin Pauwels.



1. Mathieu van der Poel 1.04.20

2. Wout Van Aert +0.16

3. Kevin Pauwels +0.27

4. Tom Meeusen +1.08

5. Laurens Sweeck +1.22

6. Corne van Kessel +1.32

7. Toon Aerts +1.37

8. Michael Vanthourenhout +1.48

9. Marcel Meisen +2.33

10. Klaas Vantornout +2.44


Overall standings

1. Wout Van Aer 370

2. Kevin Pauwels 294

3. Laurens Sweeck 279

4. Tom Meeusen 257

5. Michael Vanthourenhout 256

6. Toon Aerts 241

7. Mathieu van der Poel 240

8. Gianni Vermeersch 212

9. Corne van Kessel 194

10. Tim Merlier 191



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Miguel Angel REYES
32 years | today
Hamisi MKONA
39 years | today
40 years | today
26 years | today
31 years | today