uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

With a big attack in the sand, van der Poel dropped Van Aert and took his third win in the Superprestige race in Gieten; Pauwels completed the podium






23.12.2016 @ 21:21 Posted by Tobias Munck Sørensen

World champion Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel went head to head for the fourth race in a row at the Superprestige race in Diegem. The Dutchman made the decisive gap in the final sand section. Kevin Pauwels completed the podium.


Mathieu van der Poel who had won in Diegem the past two years, said before the start that he was suffering from a cold and was not 100 percent fit. That was hard to see at the start as the Dutchman was the first to dive into the field. Van Aert also started fast blocks and in the first lap, the pair dropped the rest.


Toon Aerts, Kevin Pauwels and Gianni Vermeersch still tried to get back, but the two stars did not allow anyone to interfere in their battle. Aerts seemed to on the way to 3rd place, but in the last lap he was beaten by Pauwels. Vermeersch then had a mechanical and had to run half a lap.


Van Aert and Van der Poel fought out a fantastic duel. The pair took turns at attacking but they were still together at the start of the final lap.


There was a lot of poker in the finale and the pace went down on the bridge. But on the football pitch, Van der Poel started accelerator. The Dutchman threw himself through the corners. Van Aert did everything in the finishing straight, but it was too late.


Van der Poel won in Diegem for the 3rd year and in the Superprestige standings he is now four points ahead of Van Aert.



1. Mathieu van der Poel 1.06.22

2. Wout Van Aert

3. Kevin Pauwels +0.24

4. Toon Aerts +0.39

5. Jens Adams +1.14

6. David van der Poel +1.22

7. Tim Merlier +1.30

8. Tom Meeusen +1.36

9. Klaas Vantornout +1.41

10. Laurens Sweeck +1.57


Overall standings

1. Mathieu van der Poel 89

2. Wout Van Aert 85

3. Laurens Sweeck 67

4. Jens Adams 60

5. Toon Aerts 59

6. Kevin Pauwels 58

7. Klaas Vantornout 54

8. David van der Poel 45

9. Tom Meeusen 40

10. Tim Merlier 30



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
27 years | today
Krzysztof DOMIN
24 years | today
28 years | today
20 years | today