uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Van der Haar crushes the opposition in Heusden-Zolder

Van der Haar takes dominant win at the World Cup race in Heusden-Zolder while Pauwels takes second and solidifies lead in the overall World Cup standings






26.12.2014 @ 22:45 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

With a demonstration of force, Lars van der Haar won the World Cup race in Heusden-Zolder. He spent almost the entire race as the lone leader of the race. Kevin Pauwels was second and almost secured himself the overall win in the World Cup.


There was no Sven Nys - who is taking a break from competition - or Klaas Vantornout - who is sick - at the start of the World Cup race in Heusden-Zolder but that didn't prevent the spectators from witnessing a beautiful and exciting race.



Before the race, it was already clear that only disaster could prevent Kevin Pauwels from winning the overall World Cup. With a tally of 300 points, he went into the race with a comfortable lead over second-placed Tom Meeusen who has scored 223 points.



One of the first to attack was Lars van der Haar. The Dutchman wanted the race to be a one-man show and got clear almost from the start. He built a lead of 17 seconds but after four laps, Pauwels decided to make an effort to get back to the lone leader. While the Dutch champion was able to maintain his pace, Pauwels was unable to get any closer and had to accept the superioty of van der Haar. Not even a chain problem could prevent the Dutchman from achieving his second World Cup victory of the season.



After seven laps, the battle for the first two positions was already over, but the fight for bronze was an exciting one. Julien Taramarcaz, David van der Poel, Corné van Kessel and Philipp Walsleben were all in contention while Tom Meeusen who had started the race in second overall, had a complete off day and was stuck in the middle of the pack. Ultimately, van Kessel made the difference and took the final spot on the podium.



Pauwels may have lost today's race but it will be virtually impossible for him not to win the overall World Cup. He now has 370 points while van der Haar is at 290. If the Dutchman wins the final World Cup race, he will score another 80 points. If Pauwels fails to pick up any points, they will be tied on points but van der Haar will take the win as he has won three races compared to Pauwels who has only triumphed twice. The final race takes place in Hoogerheide on January 25.



1. Lars van der Haar 1.08.10

2. Kevin Pauwels+0.45

3. Corne van Kessel +1.10

4. Julien Taramarcaz

5. Philipp Walsleben +1.26

6. David van der Poel +1.31

7. Gianni Vermeersch +1.33

8. Sacha Weber +1.34

9. Martin Bina

10. Jens Adams +1.39


Overall standings:

1. Kevin Pauwels 370

2. Lars van der Haar 290

3. Corne van Kessel 283

4. Philipp Walsleben 269

5. Tom Meeusen 257

6. Jens Adams 212

7. Rob Peeters 201

8. Gianni Vermeersch 190

9. Klaas Vantornout 185

10. Bart Wellens 180



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Franco German LOPEZ
36 years | today
36 years | today
Frédéric GABRIEL
54 years | today
28 years | today
40 years | today