uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Such a price is always a great recognition. Without the stage victory in the Tour, it would have been difficult to win the trophy."

Photo: Sirotti


03.12.2015 @ 18:52 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Greg Van Avermaet has lived up to his role as favorite for the Kristallen Fiets, a trophy that is awarded to the best Belgian rider by the Het Laatste Nieuws newspaper. The BMC rider won the voting ahead of Tim Wellens and Tiesj Benoot.


With a stage victory in the Tour de France, Greg Van Avermaet put the icing on the cake in 2015, a year in which he showed the usual Van Avermaet characteristics of aggressive racing and numerous places of honours.


Van Avermaet touched the major monument win in the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix where he was third. In the Strade Bianche, he was second to Zdenek Stybar.


"Such a price is always a great recognition," Van Avermaet told Sporza. "Without the stage victory in the Tour, it would have been difficult to win the trophy.


"But this season was not only good for me. In San Sebastian I was knocked down by a motorcyclist and in Paris-Tours I had a flat tire one kilometer from the finish. That would have been nice victories.


"Next season I will of course focus on the classics. But I will also be there in the Tour again. The World Championships suit me less.”


The Kristallen Fiets is awarded by Het Laatste Nieuws. 112 people, including journalists, former winners and cycling celebritiesm were allowed to cast their vote.


In October Van Avermaet was already elected Flandrien of the Year (an award presented by Het Nieuwsblad). The BMC rider is also still in the running for the title of Sportsman of the Year where he is up against Kevin De Bruyne and Philip Milanov.


All winners of the Kristiallen Fiets:

Cyclist of the Year: Greg Van Avermaet

Yong rider of the Year: Laurens De Plus

Team manager of the Year: Walter Planckaert

Domestique of the Year: Iljo Keisse


Results of the votings

Kristiallen Fiets:

1. Greg Van Avermaet 725 points 
2. Tim Wellens 398 
3. Tiesj Benoot 292 


Young rider of the Year: 

1. Laurens De Plus 548 points 

2. Loïc Vliegen 274 

3. Michael Vanthournhout 206 

Team Manager of the Year: 

1. Walter Planckaert 478 points 

2. Marc Sergeant 382 

3. Patrick Lefevere 260 


Domestique of the Year: 

1. Iljo Keisse 

2. Jens Keukeleire 

3. Julien Vermote



Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58

Currently no news in this list

32 years | today
49 years | today
34 years | today
28 years | today
30 years | today