uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Van Aert took another dominant solo win to make it four wins from four races in the 2015-2016 season







06.10.2015 @ 23:13 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The opening round of the Superprestige was another demonstration of power for Wout van Aert. The 21-year-old vice world champion scored his fourth win in four races. Van Aert rode solo to the line in the north of the Netherlands. Lars Van der Haar and Tim Merlier joined him on the podium while Sven Nys battled back from bad luck to take fourth.


Van Aert has won all races that he has done in this season and was also the top favorite at the start. The others were all watching him and it was David van der Poel who initially benefited from the game. The brother of world champion Mathieu got a gap at the start of the third lap and quickly got a 16-second advantage.


Van Aert and Van der Haar got up to speed and managed to catch young Dutchman. Van der Poel's story ended there and the two favorites stormed away from the rest.


Just at the time of Van Aert's and Van der Haar's acceleratiom, Sven Nys was taken out by a mechanical. He had to chase back after a blistering start.


Up front, Van der Haar and Van Aert worked well together. The Dutchman seemed to be able to stay with Van Aert, but at a new attack in the sand section ended the day for van der Haar.


From there, it was evident that it would be four out of four for Van Aert. Van der Haar and Tim Merlier completed the podium Nys finished fourth and Klaas Vantornout fifth.



Wout van Aert: "Because of my previous victories I was relaxed at the start. I got away pretty early and with Lars van der Haar it was the ideal companion. We both went for it and suddenly I got a gap. I made another acceleration and did not wait again."
Lars van der Haar: "During the second increase in pace, I made ​​a small mistake by not goining first into the sand section. Wout benefited and then rode away. He is currently simply too strong."

Tim Merlier: "I did not exactly expect to be on the podium, but this really shows that I have a good sprint and I have made ​​use of it to secure my first top 5 in one of the major series. It feels good."
Sven Nys: "I am satisfied with my fourth place, but more was possible. At the time of the acceleration of Van Aert and Van der Haar, I just had a flat tire. It was impossible to close the gap. In the sprint I unclipped so I lost the podium. "



1. Wout van Aert 56.34

2. Lars van der Haar +0.21

3. Tim Merlier +0.55

4. Sven Nys

5. Klaas Vantornout

6. Gianni Vermeersch +0.59

7. Kevin Pauwels +1.05

8. Vincent Baestaens +1.06

9. Rob Peeters

10. Julien Taramarcaz



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Serika Mitchel GULUMA ORTIZ
34 years | today
26 years | today
Christoffer HØVÅS
23 years | today
Peilun WU
34 years | today
34 years | today