uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

After van der Poel had suffered a puncture, Van Aert soloed to a dominant victory in the DVV Trofee race in Essen

Photo: UCI/Graham Watson








10.12.2016 @ 16:30 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Wout van Aert has won the fourth round of the DVV Trofee in Essen. Mathieu van der Poel was the most unlucky rider of the day: due to a puncture and a pedal problem, the Dutchman was taken completely ou of contention. Wout van Aert strengthens his lead in the overall standings.


Nowadays, there is a lot of repetition in the reports from the biggest cyclo-cross races.  If van der Poel has bad luck, there is a 99.9 percent that Van Aert takes the victory – and vice versa. The two stars seem to share the races between them. In Essen, the bad luck belonged to van der Poel.


However, it looked good for the young Dutchman on the first lap. He took the lead and immediately put the world champion Van Aert under pressure. But a flat tire threw a first spanner in the works for van der Poel. Van Aert had already taken over the lead and applied extra pressure. Van der Poel had to sit down and a little later it was evident why: he had suffered a puncture. The Dutchman reached the pit with a delay of 21 seconds. Along with Meeusen – who had hit the ground earlier - Van der Poel had to chase.


Kevin Pauwels seemed to be the only rider who tried to follow Van Aert, but for the umpteenth week in a row, he had bad luck. A crash brought him down and left Van Aert solo in the lead. Van der Poel could not really make up his backlog. To make matters worse, he was hit by bad luck for a second time. The Dutch champion lost the pedal and ended on the tube of his bike. That was the knock-out blow. The morale seemed to be gone for van der Poel who was 1.30 behind with four laps to go.


It would be a duel between Pauwels and Van Aert, but the world champion kept a high pace. It was too fast for Pauwels, who only saw the gap to the world champion go out. He had 20 seconds to make up with three laps to go. Van Aert took his tenth victory in Essen while Pauwels was second. Tom Meeusen sprinted strongly to third place.


With the win, Van Aert extended his overall lead in the DVV Trofee. He is now 2.34 ahead of Pauwels while van der Poel is only 9th, 8.31 behind his rival. The next race, the Scheldecross in Antwerp will be held next Saturday.



1. Wout Van Aert 1.00.56

2. Kevin Pauwels +0.18

3. Tom Meeusen +0.36

4. Laurens Sweeck +0.38

5. Toon Aerts

6. Corne Van Kessel +0.40

7. Michael Vanthourenhout

8. Gianni Vermeersch

9. Wietse Bosmans +0.42

10. Jens Adams +1.12


Overall standings

1. Wout Van Aert 4.03.16

2. Kevin Pauwels +2.34

3. Michael Vanthourenhout +3.19

4. Toon Aerts +4.28

5. Corne Van Kessel +4.55

6. Laurens Sweeck +5.24

7. Tom Meeusen +7.04

8. Gianni Vermeersch +8.27

9. Mathieu van der Poel +8.31

10. Jens Adams +8.40



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

04.05 - 26.05: Giro d'Italia
19.05 - 26.05: Tour of Japan
21.05 - 26.05: Bretagne Ladies Tour
22.05 - 26.05: Alpes Isère Tour
23.05 - 26.05: Tour du Pays de Vaud
23.05 - 26.05: Boucles de la Mayenne
23.05 - 26.05: Tour of Norway
23.05 - 26.05: Tour de la Mirabelle
23.05 - 26.05: Tour de Feminin
24.05 - 26.05: Ford RideLondon Classique
50 years | today
37 years | today
39 years | today
30 years | today
26 years | today