uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Wout van Aert distanced his nearest rivals by more than a minute in the Superprestige race in Zonhoven and extended his overall lead in the series; Peeters and Pauwels rounded out the top 3









25.10.2015 @ 16:58 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

A strong Wout Van Aert was the best in the sandpit at the Superprestige race in Zonhoven. The Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace left his final companion, Lars van der Haar (Giant-Alpecin), behind him in the fifth lap. The Dutchman fell back in the last lap and missed the podium. A strong Rob Peeters closed the door for Kevin Pauwels and took second place. Sven Nys finished fourth.



Every year the strongest rider of the pack triumphs in the sandpit of Zonhoven. Lars van der Haar knew that and so he did not go full gas when he launched the first attack. The Giant-Alpecin rider already proved himself to a tough opponent for Wout Van Aert in the World Cup race in Valkenburg where he picked up the win convincingly.


It was not too surprising that the two riders looked like the strongest in the second lap. Van der Haar was the first to dive down the pit. Initially he was joined by a select group of riders. There was no Sven Nys who left a gap and was with Kevin Pauwels a handful of seconds behind.Like yesterday in Kruibeke Nys did a good pursuit, excelled in the technical pieces and got back into podium contention.


However, Wout Van Aert left nothing to chance in the front of the race. In the third lap, the in-form rider created a gap on the climb from the sand pit. Lars van der Haar and teammate Tim Merlier were the only riders to follow and just before the end of lap four, the two main riders also left Merlier behind.


Van Aert clearly possessed a bigger engine than the skinny van der Haar and the Dutchman was suffering in the physically demanding sectors. Finally, Lars van der Haar cracked and at the start of lap six the unbeatable Van Aert was already 42 seconds ahead of van der Haar. The trio Nys-Pauwels-Peeters followed another ten seconds later.


Further back, Klaas Vantornout who was back after illness, had a bad crash. The Belgian champion quickly got medical treatment but could not continue and had to withdraw. And Wout Van Aert? He rode at his own level and set a must faster pace than chasers Peeters, van der Haar, Nys and Pauwels. That quartet had to decide the remaining podium places.


Team mate Rob Peeters, who clearly got stronger as the race progressed, dropped Lars van der Haar behind with two laps to go, but he sufferedin the final lap. At the start, his lead was only five seconds over the duo of Nys and Van der Haar. The latter, however, made a mistake at a crucial time in a downhill section and so missed the podium. Van Aert won with a convincing lead. In the finishing straight, Peeters closed the door for a visibly frustrated Kevin Pauwels, who had to settle for third. Sven Nys finished in fourth place.



1. Wout van Aert

2. Rob Peeters

3. Kevin Pauwels

4. Sven Nys

5. Lars van der Haar

6. Laurens Sweeck

7. David van der Poel

8. Julien Taramarcaz

9. Jens Adams

10. Tom Meeusen


Overall Superprestige standings

1. Wout van Aert 30

2. Lars van der Haar 25

3. Sven Nys 24

4. Kevin Pauwels 22

5. Rob Peeters 21

6. Laurens Sweeck 15

7. Julien Taramarcaz 14

8. Tim Merlier 13

9. Klaas Vantornout 11

10. Gianni Vermeersch 10



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

44 years | today
28 years | today
28 years | today
42 years | today
Shusaku MATSUO
35 years | today