uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

In his first professional season, Michael Valgren takes the Danish road race title by holding off a 9-rider chase group on his own in a very aggressive and dynamic race







29.06.2014 @ 19:22 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Michael Valgren (Tinkoff-Saxo) has continued the fantastic start to his professional career by adding the Danish road race championships to his palmares. In a very aggressive and uncontrollable race, he joined a three-rider group in the finale, went straight past them and held off his chasers to take a solo victory.


Earlier this year Michael Valgren gave the first signs that he has the skills to mix it up with the best professionals when the neo-pro finished third overall in the Four Days on Dunkirk. Three days after finishing third in the time trial, he continued his great start by winning today's Danish road race championships.


Valgren was part of a very big 27-rider group that escaped after a very aggressive start to the 197km race in Faaborg. At his side he had teammates Matti Breschel, Michael Mørkøv and Chris Anker Sørensen but importantly one of the big favourites Magnus Cort (Cult) had missed the move.


The Tinkoff-Saxo team did a lot of work to make sure that the Cort group didn't return to the front. Several riders managed to bridge the gap, including Tinkoff-Saxo rider Nicki Sørensen, but Cort never made the junction.


On the hilly course, the front group was gradually whittled down as Tinkoff-Saxo continued to set a hard pace and with 65km to go, only 12 riders were left. With Nicki Sørensen, Mørkøv, Valgren and Breschel all there, Tinkoff-Saxo were in a comfortable situation.


The attacking now started and at one point, Valgren seemed to be out of the battle when 12 riders got clear. From that group, Sørensen, Breschel and Martin Mortensen escaped and while Valgren and Rasmus Guldhammer bridged the gap to the chasers.


With 11km to go, Valgren attacked on his own and when he joined the front trio, he launched an immediate acceleration. With two of his chasers being teammates, no one responded and Valgren continued on his own to a solo win.


Behind, a 9-rider group formed and here Michael Carbel Svendgaard (Cult) beat Mørkøv in the sprint for second.


Valgren won't get the chance to show off his new jersey in the Tour de France as he is not in contention for a spot on the Tinkoff-Saxo roster.



1. Michael Valgren Andersen 4.25.58

2. Michael Carbel Svendgaard +0.50

3. Michael Mørkøv

4. Rasmus Guldhammer

5. Martin Mortensen



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

31 years | today
50 years | today
Zhibin YANG
19 years | today
Glenn Van ROY
35 years | today
Gianni PUGI
27 years | today