uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Bjorn Leukemans was really good in the stage to La Gileppe. He rode it to win it. He attacked in the final but eventually came in ninth."

Photo: ©Kramon








22.06.2015 @ 17:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The Ster ZLM Toer is a five-day stage race in the Netherlands with one stage taking place in Belgium. Wanty-Groupe Gobert took the start with Bjorn Leukemans, Frederik Veuchelen, James Vanlandschoot, Danilo Napolitano, Roy Jans, Tim De Troyer, Tom Devriendt and Jan Ghyselinck.


The prologue in Goes of 6,4 kilometres was completely flat. Jan Ghyselinck came in 30th but had hoped for a little bit more.


“If I ride only 8 seconds faster I end up in the top ten of the day. Unfortunately I didn’t have a very good day,” he commented.


Following the prologue two flat stages proved that André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) has found his Tour de France shape. Wanty-Groupe Gobert completely missed the first echelon in the first stage and therefore couldn’t go for a result in the sprint. On day three to Buchten Roy Jans just finished outside the top ten.


The stage which finished on the dam of La Gileppe was won by LottoNL-Jumbo’s Moreno Hofland with Bjorn Leukemans coming in ninth. In the last, flat stage to Boxtel both Danilo Napolitano and Roy Jans finished inside the top ten: 8th and 10th respectively.


Wanty-Groupe Gobert finished the race with only four riders. Tom Devriendt, Tim De Troyer and James Vanlandschoot suffered stomach problems while Frederik Veuchelen injured his knee.


“This most certainly wasn’t our best race of the year,” sports director Steven De Neef says realistically. “With three riders ill and one injured, it’s bad luck. Bjorn Leukemans was really good in the stage to La Gileppe. He rode it to win it. He attacked in the final but eventually came in ninth. In the last stage the sprint was a rough one with some skirmishes involving Roy. Napo tried to save the day but a good result wasn’t possible anymore,” De Neef concludes. 



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

34 years | today
35 years | today
Alexandra NESSMAR
30 years | today
Andrew YDENS
35 years | today
29 years | today