uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Van der Poel claimed his second solo win of the weekend at the DVV Trofee race in Hamme-Zogge; Van Aert was second and retained the overall lead






27.11.2016 @ 17:15 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Mathieu van der Poel has taken his second win of the weekend with a victory in the Flandriencross. The Dutchman proved to be stronger than the rest during the whole race and arrived solo at the finish. Wout van Aert had to be content with second place. Laurens Sweeck finished third.


Wout van Aert was desperate after Mathieu van der Poel had turned out to be the strongest in the World Cross in Zeven. The world champion was also keen on revenge on Belgian soil and started with renewed courage and as overall leader of the DVV Trofee series at the Flandriencross in Hamme. He had won the race in the last two years. "It looks good in the standings, but a lot can happen,” said Wout van Aert before the start.


Nearly all the favorites had a good start. As expected, fast starter Laurens Sweeck took the lead and quickly strung out the field. Wout van Aert rode in second position, with Tom Meeusen and Mathieu van der Poel on his wheel. Van der Poel clearly had a plan and in the second lap he attacked. Due to the fast pace of the in-form rider, Van der Poel dropped his rivals one by one. Only Wout van Aert seemed to be able to follow Van der Poel, but already in the third lap it was clear who would win the race.


In the fourth round, Mathieu van der Poel had a comfortable lead, but the young rider still took too much risk. He had to put his foot on the ground but managed to stay upright. Further back, a bit of drama happened when Vincent Baestaens and Jens Adams had a bit of a fight after a small tumble. Adams closed the door for Baestaens who was anything but pleased with the move.


In a sharp curve, Baestaens tried to hit Adams and he was of course disqualified. In front, Laurens Sweeck and Wout van Aert, the best of the rest, were involved in a fierce battle for second place. However, no one could match Mathieu van der Poel who could raise his arms at the finishhe was allowed solo throwing arms up in the air at the finish. In the sprint for second, Van Aert got the better of Sweeck and so retained the overall lead in the DVV Trofee series.


The fourth round will be held on December 10 in Essen.



1. Mathieu van der Poel 57.50

2. Wout Van Aert +0.06

3. Laurens Sweeck +0.07

4. Kevin Pauwels +0.20

5. Corne Van Kessel +0.28

6. Michael Vanthourenhout +0.29

7. Tim Merlier +1.16

8. Gianni Vermeersch +1.18

9. Toon Aerts +1.29

10. Jim Aernouts +1.53


Overall standings

1. Wout Van Aert 3.02.35

2. Kevin Pauwels +2.06

3. Michael Vanthourenhout +2.23

4. Toon Aerts +3.44

5. Corne Van Kessel +4.00

6. Jens Adams +4.20

7. Laurens Sweeck +4.30

8. Mathieu van der Poel +4.55

9. Tom Meeusen +6.11

10. Gianni Vermeersch +7.31



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

30 years | today
Kelland O'BRIEN
26 years | today
33 years | today
Jean-Christophe PERAUD
47 years | today
Matthias BARNET
26 years | today