uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

On the descent from Carabanzo Amets Txurruka launched an offensive that would prove triumphant.

Photo: Sirotti






11.05.2013 @ 20:43 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg


At the Vuelta a Asturias, Amets Txurruka of Caja Rural-Seguros RGA won today’s opening stage between Oviedo and Pola de Lena as the Caja Rural-Seguros RGA ignited the inaugural stage of the three day race.


During the 157km maiden stage the riders faced 4 categorised climbs, including the Cuchu Puercu (11 km at an average 6,8 % gradient) topping out at 30km from the finish line and the Carabanzo (2.2 km, 9.4 %) with barely 6km to go.


The opening 50km of the stage saw an avalanche of unsuccessful breakaway attempts before a 9 man group consisting of Jon Aberasturi (Euskaltel-Euskadi), David Belda (Burgos BH), Luis Mas Bonet (Burgos BH), Mikel Aristi (Fundación Euskadi), Cesar Nicolas Paredes (472 Colombia), Lucas Gaday (Argentina), Domingos Goncalves (Radio Popular - Onda), Raul Alarcon (Louletano) and Luis Afonso (LA Antarte) finally managed to break clear.


With an undulating, climb-laden stage, however, and the determined efforts of Team Movistar in the peloton, the breakaway never established a commanding lead and on the final climb of the stage, the peloton had bridged the gap and took on the final challenge of the day, albeit in tatters.


On the descent from Carabanzo Amets Txurruka launched an offensive that would prove triumphant. Even though he never built up more than a five second lead, Txurruka was able to keep the disorganized pursuers at bay and claim the stage and the overall lead.


Result, stage 1:

1 Amets Txurruka - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
2 Jorge Martín Montenegro - Louletano 0.04”
3 Mikel Landa - Euskaltel-Euskadi
4 Ever Alexander Rivera - 472-Colombia
5 Andre Cardoso - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
6 Delio Fernández - OFM-Quinta da Lixa
7 Javier Moreno - Movistar Team
8 Moisés Dueñas - Burgos BH
9 Arkaitz Duran - Spanien
10 Peio Bilbao - Euskaltel-Euskadi
11 Marcos García - Caja Rual-Seguros RGA
12 Haritz Orbe - Fundacion Euskadi 0.17”
13 Rubén Plaza - Movistar Team
14 Daniel Silva - Radio Popular Onda 0.36”
15 Fabricio Ferrari - Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0.43”



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Sebastian STAMEGNA
35 years | today
Joshua DUFFY
24 years | today
Alessandra NERI
34 years | today
Juan Pablo DOTTI
40 years | today
Yoav BAR
33 years | today