uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R) wins his first pro race as Amets Txurruka (Caja Rural) wins the Tour du Gevaudan overall ahead of Degand and Vuillermoz. Pinot and Hardy complete the stage podium.

Photo: Sirotti


28.09.2014 @ 20:06 Posted by Joseph Doherty

Amets Txurruka (Caja Rural) won the overall in the Tour du Gevaudan as Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R) claimed the final stage, rounding out a breakthrough season for him with his first pro win.


The final stage of the hard French race the Tour du Gevaudan got underway in sunny conditions and immediately from the gun and six men got away: Guillaume Bonnafond (AG2R - La Mondiale, )Arnaud Courteille (, Romain Guillemois (Europcar), Clément Koretzky (Bretagne - Séché Environnement), Antoine Demoitié (Wallonie - Bruxelles) and Thomas Rostollan (La Pomme Marseille 13). They built a gap of 4’45 at maximum as they hit the day’s first climb, the Col du Plot de la Fage.


Caja Rural and Wanty set the tempo in the peloton as the break crested the climb with Koretzky beating Courteille and Guillemois to the points. The gap was 4’58.


Rostollan punctured out of the break and began a long chase to get back on but after 10 minutes of chasing, he made it back. As the gap hovered at 4’55 with only 60km to go.


FDJ hit the front for Thibaut Pinot and the gap was coming down quickly now, 3’40 with only 50km to go.


The gap was 2’35 as the break hit the climb of Montee Jalabert for the first time and while they were on the first cat climb, the gap continued to drop and as soon as it went below a minute, Bonnafond and Rostollan made an attack and they eked out a gap of 40 seconds to the remainder of the break and the peloton was only a further 10 seconds back.


Romain Hardy (Cofidis0 made it up to the second chase group as the peloton splintered but by the time it was all back together in the bunch, they had reabsorbed the chase group. Reinier Honig made a tentative attack but got nowhere. This prompted Burgos rider Dario Hernandez made a move.


Hernandez bridged to Bonnafond, who had dropped his companion and the two made it onto the second ascent of the Jalabert.

However, they never had a chance as the peloton absorbed them, leading to a big move containing several riders: Maxime Médérel (Europcar), Angel Madrazo, Amets Txurruka (Caja Rural), Rémy Di Gregorio (La Pomme Marseille 13), Mikael Cherel and Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R La Mondiale). Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) quickly joined them. Race leader Degand was not in the group and second place man yesterday Txurruka was the virtual race leader.


Four more riders made it to the front, making the leading group look like so: Romain Hardy (Cofidis), Théo Vimpère (BigMat-Auber 93), Thibaut Pinot (, Maxime Médérel (Europcar), Peio Bilbao, Angel Madrazo, Amets Txurruka (Caja Rural), Rémy Di Grégorio (La Pomme Marseille 13), Hubert Dupont, Mikaël Chérel and Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R La Mondiale).


They worked well and with 10km to go, they had 44 seconds on the bunch containing race leader Degand. They entered the final 3km with 33 seconds in hand and Txurruka dragged his companions to the line where Vuillermoz took his first pro win by outsprinting Pinot and Hardy.



Txurruka took the overall by 18 seconds from Degand with Vullermoz third at 22 seconds.




Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Antonio TIBERI
23 years | today
38 years | today
36 years | today
30 years | today
52 years | today