uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"On the last climb, Rodolfo tried to attack, but he wasn’t left any space. Anyway, I think tomorrow’s final climb is much more suited to him than today’s, so we will be determined to go for a strong result.”



07.08.2015 @ 23:35 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

As expected, Colombia-Coldeportes did not hide in the first Vuelta a Burgos uphill finish, coming at the end of the 4th stage, Belorado – Pineda de la Sierra (161 km). Showing up in first place was Rodolfo Torres, who tried to accelerate twice inside the last 2000 metres, but was always brought back by Astana, the team of former leader Luis Leon Sanchez, as well as of the new leader, Colombian Miguel Angel Lopez, the winner of today’s stage.


The acceleration from the Kazakh team in the final metres splintered the selected 15-man group at the front, and 2014 Tour de l’Avenir winner managed to beat to the finish Daniel Moreno (Katusha) and Pierre-Roger Latour (Ag2r-La Mondiale). After his double attempt in the space of a few hundreths metres, Torres lost a little ground in the finale, finishing 11th, 21 seconds behind the winner, while moving up to 12th in the overall, 1.19 adrift. Three more Escarabajos finished among the top 22: Miguel Angel Rubiano (16th), Carlos Julian Quintero (20th) and Edward Diaz (22th). Fabio Duarte once again held on the best climber’s jersey, with only one stage to go.


“Today it was our plan to be in the breakaway but the escape of Salas (Burgos BH), Insausti (Murias Taldea), Colli (Nippo-Vini Fantini), Bideau (Bretagne-Séché) and Jáuregui (AG2R La Mondiale) got clear immediately, and with Astana keeping it controlled it was still a good situation for us," Sports Director Oscar Pellicioli told. "On the last climb, Rodolfo tried to attack, but he wasn’t left any space. Anyway, I think tomorrow’s final climb is much more suited to him than today’s, so we will be determined to go for a strong result.”


The queen stage of the Vuelta a Burgos expects the riders on August 8th, from Comunera de la Revenga to Lagunas de Neila (170 km), with no less than 7 categorized climbs and the classic uphill finish that will once again say the last word on the Spanish race’s outcome.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

38 years | today
34 years | today
Michael LUCEY
37 years | today
52 years | today
39 years | today