uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“I’m proud about being part of what we did today, attacking in the crosswind 55 kilometres from the finish line and we managed to keep the chase group behind us. In the sprint, I was on Boonen’s wheel but he was simply too...

Photo: Tinkoff-Saxo




10.02.2014 @ 20:28 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team Tinkoff-Saxo again proved that they master the art of crosswind racing better than most when the team put 5 riders in the front group in today's dramatic stage of the Tour of Qatar. Michael Mørkøv sprinted to 2nd behind Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) and is now poised for a high overall result.


Omega Pharma-Quick Step may have received most of the praise after today's dramatic stage of the Tour of Qatar but another team also put on a show in the Qatari desert. In the 24-rider front group, Team Tinkoff-Saxo had 5 of its 8 riders as Daniele Bennati, Michael Mørkøv, Matti Breschel, Karsten Kroon and Christopher Juul Jensen all made the split.


The team has a strong history of excelling in the crosswinds, most recently demonstrated in the legendary stage to St-Armand-Montrond in last year's Tour de France. Today they were rewarded for their efforts with a 2nd place for Mørkøv who was well-placed on the wheel of stage winner Tom Boonen but failed to beat him in the sprint.


“I’m proud about being part of what we did today, attacking in the crosswind 55 kilometres from the finish line and we managed to keep the chase group behind us," Mørkøv said. "In the sprint, I was on Boonen’s wheel but he was simply too strong to go around. However, I’m happy with the result and especially with our way of riding today."


Sports director Lars Michaelsen was full of praise for his team.


“The guys really showed high-class  teamwork out there," he said. After a lot of crosswind fighting and splits in the first 65 kilometres, everything came back together. But in the final part, our boys went to the front and blew everything to pieces and 24 riders made the cut where we had five riders. Even though the BMC squad were chasing, we held onto the lead. I’m really happy about the effort and the dedication, the boys showed today."


Mørkøv is now 4th on GC, 20 seconds behind overall leader Niki Terpstra, and being a good time trialist he will look to improve on that ranking in tomorrow's 10.9km time trial.


Starting at 12.45 CET you can follow the time trial on You can read our preview here.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

28 years | today
45 years | today
30 years | today
35 years | today
22 years | today