uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Moreno Moser and Peter Sagan will be back to defend their Cannondale 1-2 on the gravel roads near Siena but they will be challenged by the strongest line-up ever in the Italian classic

Photo: Sirotti


06.03.2014 @ 16:58 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Organizers RCS Sport have released a list of major stars that will be in attendance when the race with its famous gravel roads take place on Saturday. A revised course has made the course tougher and has attracted the strongest line-up ever for the young event.


The new race route from San Gimignano to Siena (both cities are Unesco World Heritage Sites), will host the spectacle of the classic of the dirty roads to be staged next Saturday. Organized by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport, the Strade Bianche by Limar features some 50km of dirt roads in its 197km route, which is divided into 10 segments with stretches of "5 stars" difficulty.
Among the participants are world-class athletes, representing 29 countries (including Eritrea and Rwanda) and 5 continents.

Included in the starting line-up are the winners of six of the seven most recent editions of the race: Moser 2013, Cancellara 2012 and 2008, Maxim Iglinskiy 2010, Thomas Lovkvist 2009 and Aleksandr Kolobnev 2007.
There will also be an important representation of stage race champions with Cadel Evans, Bradley Wiggins, Rigoberto Uran, Samuel Sanchez, Alejandro Valverde, Nairo Quintana and Roman Kreuziger .
The race also features some of the best young "promising future" athletes, such as Fabio Aru, Sonny Colbrelli, Diego Ulissi, Michal Kwiatkowski, Warren Barguil.

18 teams (8 riders each), 11 are UCI ProTeams and 7 are UCI Professional Continental Teams:
  1. CANNONDALE (ITA) – Moreno Moser, Peter Sagan
  2. ANDRONI GIOCATTOLI (ITA) – Franco Pelizzoti, Johnny Hogerland
  3. ASTANA PRO TEAM (KAZ) – Maxim Iglinskiy, Fabio Aru
  4. BARDIANI CSF (ITA) – Sonny Colbrelli, Marco Coledan 
  5. BMC RACING TEAM (USA) – Cadel Evans, Samuel Sanchez
  6. COLOMBIA (COL) – Miguel Rubiano Chavez, Fabio Duarte
  7. IAM CYCLING (SWI) – Thomas Lövkvist, Gustav Larsson
  8. LAMPRE-MERIDA (ITA) – Filippo Pozzato, Diego Ulissi
  9. MOVISTAR TEAM (ESP) – Alejandro Valverde, Nairo Quintana
  10. MTN - QHUBEKA (RSA) – Linus Gerdemann, Daniel Teklehaimanot
  11. OMEGA PHARMA - QUICK-STEP CYCLING TEAM (BEL) – Mark Cavendish, Michal Kwiatkowski
  12. TEAM GIANT-SHIMANO (NED) – Warren Barguil, Tom Stamsnijder
  13. TEAM KATUSHA (RUS) – Alexandr Kolobnev, Luca Paolini
  14. TEAM SKY (GBR) – Bradley Wiggins, Ian Stannard
  15. TINKOFF-SAXO (RUS) – Daniele Bennati, Roman Kreuziger
  16. TREK FACTORY RACING (USA) – Fabian Cancellara, Yaroslav Popovich
  17. UNITEDHEALTHCARE PROFESSIONAL CYCLING TEAM (USA) – Alessandro Bazzana, Martijn Maaskant
  18. YELLOW FLUO (ITA) – Mauro Finetto, Matteo Rabottini
2007 - Aleksandr Kolobnev (RUS)
2008 - Fabian Cancellara (SVI)
2009 - Thomas Lovkvist (SVE)
2010 - Maxim Iglinskiy (KAZ)
2011 - Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
2012 - Fabian Cancellara (SVI)
2013 - Moreno Moser (ITA)



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Wesley KLINE
30 years | today
33 years | today
42 years | today
30 years | today
Mohd Khairuz ABD GHANI
35 years | today