uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Due to strong wind it was very nervous today, but as a team we did a good job in staying in the front. In the end we were not able to materialize our effort and bring good results. We still need some more racing to finish among t...

Photo: Sirotti




05.02.2015 @ 18:28 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Two CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders arrived at the finish in Top 20 in stage 2 of Dubai Tour – Grega Bole and Grzegorz Stepniak. The “riders in orange” were not the most lucky riders in the peloton since three of them accidently pulled off the road when it split in two.


"Due to strong wind it was very nervous today, but as a team we did a good job in staying in the front. In the end we were not able to materialize our effort and bring good results. We still need some more racing to finish among the best sprinters," Grega Bole said afterwards. 


Three riders formed a breakaway early on – Chun Kai Feng (Lampre – Merida), Rafaa Chtioui (Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team) and Davide Frattini (UnitedHealthcare ). They were never really a threat for the peleton, despite gaining a 5:30 minute lead.


One of the factors that influenced the race was a strong wind blowing in the Dubai desert. CCC Sprandi Polkowice stayed in the front of the bunch to not get dropped. Sylwester Szmyd was the only “rider in orange” who was left behind, but his group quickly rejoined the peloton.


With 55km to go Chtioui took off from the break. Kai Feng and Frattini were reeled in soon after. The rider of Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team was caught 10km from the finish.


The positioning of Grzegorz Stepniak was interrupted when the road suddenly split in two and his three teammates took the wrong way. They lost some ground to the peloton and it disturbed the forming of a sprint train. In the end two CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders finished in Top 20, Grega Bole was 17th and Grzegorz Stepniak took 20th.


The stage was won by Elia Viviani (Team Sky). He defeated yesterday’s winner Mark Cavendish (Etixx – Quick Step) and Andrea Guardini (Astana).



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

49 years | today
Yasvany FALCON
45 years | today
Tracy BEST
40 years | today
Sebastian STAMEGNA
35 years | today
45 years | today