uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

American super team defends Worlds title by putting a dominant 1.11 into Rabo Women Team on the flat course in Florence while Orica-AIS takes 3rd

Photo: Sirotti






22.09.2013 @ 11:46 Posted by Philip Tarning-Andersen

Specialized-Lululemon lived up to expectations in today's world championships team time trial when the American squad crushed the opposition to defend the title they won in Limburg last year. Rabo Women Team rode a consistent race to take 2nd while Orica-AIS took 3rd.


Specialized-Lululemon has been totally dominant when it comes to time trialing and the team was the major favourite in today's Worlds team time trial where they lined up as defending champions. Unsurprisingly, the sextet of Trixi Worrack, Eleonora Van Dijk, Evelyn Stevens, Carmen Small, Katie Colclough and Lisa Brennauer crused the opposition and defended the title they took at the inaugural running of the event in Limburg last year.


The team posted the fastest time at both intermediate checks and kept extending their advantage all the way to the finish. At the first check, they were only 1,87 seconds ahead of Orica-AIS but at the second one, they had extended their lead to a massive 50 seconds. When they crossed the finish line as the final team on the course, they stopped the clock in a time that was 1.11 faster than the one set by Rabo Women Team.


Last year's runner-ups Orica-AIS went out hard from the beginning as they tried to put the American favourites under pressure. Having been less than 2 seconds behind at the first check, they faded on the latter part of the course and had to settle for 3rd. On the other hand, Rabo Women Team rode a consistent race and improved from 3rd at both intermediate checks to a silver medal at the end.


Rusvelo was the fourth team down the ramp and set a time that was far better than anyone else when they crossed the line. The team faced a long wait in the hot seat and led the race until only the three big favourite teams remained. In the end, the Russians had to settle for 4th while MCipollini Giordana took 5th.


The world championships continues later today when the elite men battle it out for the team time trial title. Starting at 14.00 CEST you can follow that race on




1 Team Specialized-Lululemon 51.10,69
Lisa Brennauer
Katie Colclough
Carmen Small-McNellis
Evelyn Stevens
Ellen Van Dijk
Trixi Worrack

2 Rabo Women 1.11,09
Lucinda Brand
Thalita De Jong
Pauline Ferrand Prevot
Roxane Knetemann
Annemiek Van Vleuten
Marianne Vos

3 Orica-AIS 1.33,83
Annette Edmondson
Shara Gillow
Loes Gunnewijk
Melissa Hoskins
Emma Johansson
Amanda Spratt

4 Rusvelo 2.02,31
Alexandra Burchenkova
Anastasiya Chulkova
Oxana Kozonchuk
Elena Kuchinskaya
Evgenia Romanyuta
Olga Zabelinskaya

5 MCipollini Giordana 2.18,83
Tatiana Antoshina
Valentina Carretta
Tatiana Guderzo
Malgorzta Jasinska
Valentina Scandolara
Marta Tagliaferro

6 Wiggle Honda 2.33,00
Charlotte Becker
Emily Collins
Danielle King
Lauren Kitchen
Joanna Rowsell
Linda Villumsen

7 Team Argos-Shimano 2.50,51
Janneke Busser-Kanis
Elke Gebhardt
Willeke Knol
Amy Pieters
Esra Tromp
Kirsten Wild

8 Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 3.03,44
Lauren Tucker Hall
Janel Holcomb
Leah Kirchmann
Joëlle Numainville
Denise Ramsden
Jade Wilcoxson

9 Sengers Ladies Cycling Team 3.05,80
Sofie De Vuyst
Vera Koedooder
Maaike Polspoel
Julia Soek
Anna Van Der Breggen

10 Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 3.33,70
Elisabeth Armitstead
Jessie Daams
Romy Kasper
Nina Kessler
Emma Trott
Adrie Visser

11 Be Pink 3.48,49
Noemi Cantele
Simona Frapporti
Dalia Muccioli
Doris Schweizer
Silvia Valsecchi
Malgorzata Wojtyra

12 S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 4.34,18
Aude Biannic
Mireia Epelde Bikendi
Jutatip Maneephan
Edwige Pitel
Liisi Rist
Lara Vieceli

13 Hitec Products UCK 4.38,50
Emilia Fahlin
Ceclie Gotaas Johnsen
Julie Leth
Elisa Longo Borghini
Rossella Ratto
Thea Thorsen

14 Lotto Belisol Ladies 4.46,14
Marijn De Vries
Jolien D'Hoore
Ann Sophie Duyck
Sharon Laws
Carlee Taylor
Celine Van Severen

15 Faren-Kuota 5.27,38
Elena Cecchini
Maria Giulia Confalonieri
Christelle Ferrier-Bruneau
Alessandra Giuseppina Grassi
Carolina Rodriguez
Patricia Schwager

16 Vaiano Fondriest 5.30,87
Valentina Bastianelli
Alessandra D'Ettorre
Barbara Guarischi
Serika Mitchel Guluma
Katarzyna Sosna
Chiara Vannucci



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

25 years | today
29 years | today
27 years | today
23 years | today
Alexandre AULAS
34 years | today