uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Despite being known as a pure climber, Sørensen beat Mortensen in a 2-rider sprint to win the Danish road race championships; Kamp completed the podium









28.06.2015 @ 21:56 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Despite being known as a pure climber, Chris Anker Sørensen (Tinkoff-Saxo) came out on top in the Danish road race championships despite his home country having no major climbs. He surprisingly beat Martin Mortensen (Cult) in a two-rider sprint while Alexander Kamp (Coloquick) completed the podium.


Denmark has had lots of strong climbers but as the country is almost completely flat, they have rarely had a chance to win their national road race championships. Hence, no one had really mentioned Chris Anker Sørensen (Tinkoff-Saxo) as a possible winner of today’s championships race as he usually excels in the high mountains.


However, the Dane took his first victory since 2010 when he surprisingly beat Martin Mortensen in a 2-rider sprint after a very hard race that had left everyone on their limit. With strong teammates behind him, he could stay on the wheel of his companion in the finale and that left him with enough power to win the sprint.


The race was held on a hilly 13.9km circuit around the city of Rønde that they would cover 15 times for a total distance of 209km. The circuit included a small climb and an uphill drag to the finish line.


The opening part of the race was dominated by a breakaway with Michael Reihs (CULT Energy Pro Cycling), Martin Grøn (Riwal Platform Cycling Team), Rolf Nyborg Broge (Team coloQuick), Emil Vinjebo (TREFOR-Blue Water), Jesper Hansen (Randers), Eskil Vammen (WeBike), Nicolaj Steen (Jutlander) and Lasse Mortensgaard (Team ABC Elite) and they would get an advantage of more than 9 minutes before the peloton started to chase. However, Tinkoff-Saxo started to play with the mucles with around 130km to go when a chase group with Chris Anker Sørensen, Christopher Juul Jensen, Michael Mørkøv (Tinkoff-Saxo), Michael Carbel, Rasmus Quaade (CULT Energy Pro Cycling), Lasse Norman Hansen (Cannondale-Garmin), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Magnus Cort (Orica-GreenEDGE), Nicolai Brøchner (Riwal Platform), Alexander Kamp, Rune Almindsø (ColoQuick), Asbjørn Kragh Andersen and Patrick Clausen  (Team TREFOR-Blue Water) was formed and they were later joined by Michael Valgren (Tinkoff-Saxo), Mortensen, Rasmus Guldhammer, Troels Vinther (Cult), Morten Gadgaard (Champion System), Jonas Aaen, Rasmus Mygind (Riwal), Christian Moberg, Mads Würtz (ColoQuick), Søren Kragh (Trefor), Frederik Zeuner (Herning), Mads Pedersen (CULT), Emil Bækhøj (Riwal), Mathias Dam Westergaard (Almeborg Bornholm) and Daniel Foder (TREFOR-Blue Water).  to form the group that would ultimately decide the race.


No one was able to control the race that turned out to be an attacking affair with constantly changing race situations. That made it a bit of a gamble about which groups to follow and made it a race of attrition.


The early break was caught with 40km to go and after many attacks, it was a group with Chris Anker Sørensen, Valgren, Carbel, Mortensen, Fuglsang, Vinther, Cort, Würtz Schmidt, Kamp, Vinjebo and Asbjørn Kragh Andersen that formed. Kamp attacked and would start the final lap with a 16-rider advantage but he was brought back with 8km to go.


Valgren, Fuglsang, Mortensen, Kamp, Cort, Carbel, Vinther and Sørensen were the only riders left as they entered the final 5km. Here Mortensen and Sørensen got clear but with Valgren in the chase group, Sørensen quickly stopped doing any work. That made it possible for him to save enough energy to win the two-rider sprint with a powerful late surge while Kamp won the sprint for third 10 seconds later.


Sørensen is unlikely to be selected for the Tour de France and so will probably wear his jersey for the first time at the Tour of Austria. He may also get the chance to show his new colours on home soil at the Tour of Denmark in August.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Leonora GEPPI
24 years | today
34 years | today
23 years | today
Hiroshi SATO
24 years | today
19 years | today