uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

This evening the Ghent Six Days will get under way in the famous Het Kuipke velodrome.

Photo: OPQS / Tim De Waele






17.11.2015 @ 10:38 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Last year the race was won by Belgian duo Jasper De Buyst and Kenny De Ketele but there will be no repeat win this year as the team has been split up. The former will team up with Otto Vergaerde while De Ketele partners with Gijs Van Hoecke. Together, De Ketele and Van Hoecke won the 2012 World Madison Championship, while De Buyst/Vergaerde took bronze in this year’s event.


Neither team will be the odds-on favourites to win what will be the 75th edition of the race, though. That honour must rest on the shoulders of Dane Michael Mørkøv and home crowd favourite Iljo Keisse. However, De Ketele was adamant that the outcome of the race is no foregone conclusion when talking to Het Nieuwsblad on the eve of the event.


“When I read the reports in the newspapers, it’s all about Iljo Keisse and Michael Mørkøv. One gets the impression that they are untouchable and that De Buyst/Vergaerde are bound to finish as runners-up. I don’t agree with such an interpretation and Van Hoecke and I will take delight in disproving it right from the start of the race,” De Ketele said.


The starting gun will be fired by two legends of Belgian cycling; Patrick Sercu, who won a record 88 Six Days, and Eddy Merckx, who needs no introduction, to commemorate the 50 years anniversary of their win at the Ghent Six Days in 1965.


The 12 participating teams:

1. Jasper De Buyst – Otto Vergaerde (BEL)
2. Kenny De Ketele – Gijs van Hoecke (BEL)
3. Yoeri Havik – Michael Vingerling (NED)
4. Iljo Keisse (BEL) – Michael Mørkøv (DEN)
5. Alex Rasmussen – Marc Hester (DEN)
6. Andreas Müller (AUT) – Stijn Steels (BEL)
7. Marcel Kalz – Christian Grasmann (GER)
8. Morgan Kneisky (FRA) – Moreno de Pauw (BEL)
9. Tristan Marguet – Claudio Imhof (SUI)
10. Lindsay de Vylder (BEL) – David Muntaner (ESP)
11. Melvin van Zijl (NED) – Christopher Lawless (GBR)
12. Nick Stöpler (NED) – Jesper Mørkøv (DEN)



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

28 years | today
45 years | today
26 years | today
20 years | today
Matyas JANOS
23 years | today