uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

U23 World TT champ Schmidt showed his class by beating Boom and Madsen by eight and nine seconds. Valgren extended his GC lead by seven seconds over Cort, after taking fourth on the stage.

Photo: DCU / Mads Hansen




30.07.2016 @ 18:55 Posted by Joseph Doherty

In the Tour of Denmark TT, it was Tinkoff’s Michael Kolar who was first down the start ramp to do the 19.6km test, as his teammate Michael Valgren would attempt to defend his lead to win the race for a second time overall.


The third rider off the start list was ONE Pro Cycling’s Marcin Bialoblocki, one of the big favourites to win the TT. 25:07 was Kolar’s time, but Bialoblcki duely delivered and smashed it, posting a 23:24.


After Bialoblocki, eyes were turning to the likes of Manuele Boaro (Tinkoff), Soren Kragh Andersen (Danish National Team) Keizer and Van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo) and Mads Wurtz Schmidt (Virtu Pro Veloconcept) to see who could take the stage.


Lukas Postlberger (Bora-Argon 18) had gone second quickest at the line with a 24:09, showcasing just how good Bialoblocki’s time was. Almebrog-Bornholm’s Danish TT champ Martin Toft Madsen was flying, taking a shock lead with a time of 23:21.


Soren Kragh was flying, passing his minute man after just ten minutes of riding. Meanwhile Lars Boom was alos flying on the course. Kragh could only manage a 23:38 after faltering in the final but Boom beat the time of Madsen by a second. Schmidt was the last rider who had a feasible chance and he smashed the course, winning by eight seconds from Boom.


In the GC battle, Valgren showed his TT class by taking fourth on the day, just ten seconds behind Schmidt. Magnus Cort (Danish national team) was just seven seconds behind Valgren so kept his second overall. Schmidt lifted himself to third overall. Valgren should win the race on the final day tomorrow, which is likely to be a sprint. However, Cort is just 12 seconds behind so bonuses may come into play. Schmidt sits 56 seconds in arrears.




Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
32 years | today
Daniele Di BATTE
39 years | today
26 years | today
Andres Dario PAEZ
25 years | today