uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“Miguel is in good condition after Andalucia, and will be our man in case the race comes down to a reduced sprint. But we are not short of options, with Torres, Carlos Julian Quintero and Edward Diaz looking sharp...

Photo: Sirotti






27.02.2015 @ 08:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

In addition to the French doubleheader – Classic Sud Ardeche and La Drome Classic – Colombia-Coldeportes’ Escarabajos will take part in another one-day event in the weekend, GP Lugano.

An individual time trial between 1950 and 1979, won by the likes of Fausto Coppi, Jacques Anquetil, and Ercole Baldini, the Gran Premio di Lugano has been organised in the past 34 years as a one-day race with a challenging terrain, suited to fast puncheurs. In the past seasons, the race used a difficult and selective circuit, which will be run five times, for a total 194,9 km, also at this years’ edition. From the top of the last hill there will be less than 5 km to the finish, where the riders with an extra kick can give it all for the victory.
Sports Director Valerio Tebaldi will lead a strong and well-rounded line-up, with former Colombian National Champion Miguel Angel Rubiano, coming off the Vuelta a Andalucia, motivated to make an impact on Sunday’s race. Runner-up at the Tour de San Luis earlier in the season, Rodolfo Torres will also be in contention for the one-day event, encouraged by his 15th place in the last mountain stage of the Vuelta a Andalucia. 

“Miguel is in good condition after Andalucia, and will be our man in case the race comes down to a reduced sprint," Sports Director Tebaldi explained. "But we are not short of options, with Torres, Carlos Julian Quintero and Edward Diaz looking sharp at the moment. We feel in good position to make a solid display.”

Originally in the Lugano’s line-up was also Cayetano Sarmiento, who was later scratched due to the loss of his mother Marina, and will travel to Colombia in the next few hours.



Alex Cano, Edward Diaz, Fabio Duarte, Daniel Martinez, Sebastian Molano, Carlos Quintero, Miguel Angel Rubiano, Rodolfo Torres



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

43 years | today
20 years | today
Leonora GEPPI
23 years | today
22 years | today
Takashi SATO
23 years | today