uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

With a powerful attack 10km from the finish, Roche soloed to victory in the Irish championships; Brammeier and O'Loughlin completed the podium

Photo: Sirotti








27.06.2016 @ 01:43 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

A few days after winning the time trial, Nicolas Roche (Sky) again proved to be in outstanding form by living up to the tag being the big favourite at the Irish Road Race Championships. The Sky rider attackd from a five-rider group on the final climb and held off his chasers to take a second title seven years after the first one. Matt Brammeier (Dimension Data) and Michael O'Loughlin (WIGGINS) finished second and third respectively.


A few days ago, Nicolas Roche was informed that he was one of the big names to miss out of the Team Sky team for the Tour de France. Since then he has done everything possible to prove to the team management that their decision was wrong.


Earlier this week Roche claimed a second Irish time trial title and today he made his first double when he also added a second road race win to the one he took in 2009. After a day on the offensive, he dropped a group containing most of the Irish elite before soling across the line.


The race was held on a 188km course in Kilcullen and it was aggressive right from the start. Roche was in two early moves before he joined forces with Daire Feeley (Team iTap), defending champion Damien Shaw (An Post Chain Reaction), Eddie Dunbar (Axeon Hagens Berman), James Curry (Banbridge CC), Cathal Moynihan (Manor West Hotel, Tralee/iBike) and Matt Brammeier (Dimension Data) to form a seven-rider group. Moynihan and Curry were left behind but instead Mark Downey (VC Toucy) and later Connor McConvey (An Post Chain Reaction)and Michael O’Loughlin (Team WIGGINS) made it across to make it 8 riders in the lead.


For several laps, a chase group with Jack Wilson (An Post Chain Reaction), Mark Dowling (ASEA-Wheelworx), Darragh O’Mahony (O’Leary’s Stone Kanturk CC), Chris McGlinchey (Chain Reaction Cycles) and Ryan Mullen (Cannondale) stayed around one minute behind the leaders but like the rest of the peloton, they would never make the junction. With two laps to go, they were more than a minute behind and the gap went out to more than three minutes with 30km to go, making it clear that the front octet was going to decide the race.


Feeley, Dunbar and Downey were dropped, leaving five riders to fight it out for the win and it was Shaw who was the main aggressor. However, Roche turned out to be the strongest when he attacked on a climb with 10km to go. He immediately got an advantage and managed to hold off his chasers, crossing the line with 34 seconds to spare. Further back, O'Loughlin made a big attack to take silver but he was reeled in and instead he had to settle for bronze after a sprint that was won by Brammeier.


It is still unclear when Roche will ride his first race in his new jersey.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

11.06 - 14.06: Škoda Tour de Maurice
15.06: GP Eccellenze Valli del Soligo
07.06 - 16.06: Tour du Maroc
09.06 - 16.06: Tour de Suisse
09.06 - 16.06: Giro d'Italia Next Gen
12.06 - 16.06: Tour de Beauce
12.06 - 16.06: Tour of Slovenia
12.06 - 16.06: Baloise Belgium Tour
12.06 - 16.06: Tour de Kurpie
13.06 - 16.06: Oberösterreich Rundfahrt
35 years | today
35 years | today
53 years | today
Kristijan NIKOLOV
27 years | today
35 years | today