uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"I tried a late move on the final climb. Another rider joined me but teams such as BMC Racing and Ag2R didn’t want to let us go all the way to the finish. They were chasing us down and caught us 6-7 kilometers before the line."

Photo: Sirotti






22.02.2015 @ 21:04 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Nikolay Mihaylov was attacking early on and Davide Rebellin was very active at the end of stage 2 of Tour du Haut Var. Despite the aggressive ride of the CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders, the winner came from a small bunch sprint.


"I tried a late move on the final climb. Another rider joined me but teams such as BMC Racing and Ag2R didn’t want to let us go all the way to the finish. They were chasing us down and caught us 6-7 kilometers before the line. I feel that my form is where it should be and I hope to deliver good results in the next races," Davide Rebellin said.  


The beginning of the stage saw many riders try to break clear. Nobody was able to build bigger lead until 60km into the stage. This is when a 9-man group was established with Nikolay Mihaylov. He was joined by Johan Le Bon (FDJ), Maxim Belkov (Katusha), Yannick Martinez (Europcar), Anthony Turgis (Cofidis), Ignas Konovalovas (Marseille 13 KTM), Julien Guay (Auber 93), Antoine Demoitié (Wallonie – Bruxelles) and Serge Dewortelaer (Veranclassic – Ekoï).


The peloton held them on a 2-minute leash.


With 70km to go Mihaylov was left behind and got reeled in by the bunch. The other escapees continued to ride in the front, but in the end the group split in a few pieces. Eventually they were all brought back before the cat.1 climb to Tuilières. This is where Davide Rebellin launched his attack. He took off with Julien Loubet (Team Marseille 13-KTM). The Italian was first at the top, but the chasers were very close behind.


He got caught and a small peloton arrived to the finish. Luka Mezgec  (Team Giant-Alpecin) was the fastest and took the win. He outsprinted Philippe Gilbert (BMC Racing Team) and Baptiste Planckaert (Roubaix-Lille Métropole). Rebellin finished 11th and completed the two-day race in 8th overall. Ben Gastauer (AG2R La Mondiale) claimed the victory in the final general classification.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

Juan Carlos POLANCO
36 years | today
40 years | today
25 years | today
Victor BROEX
23 years | today
34 years | today