uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Being already on fire on Friday evening, the Danish favourites Alex Rasmussen and Michael Morkov continued applying pressure on their biggest rivals in a showcase of strength on Saturday night..



















01.02.2015 @ 09:46 Posted by Aleksandra Górska

Being already on fire on Friday evening, the Danish favourites Alex Rasmussen and Michael Morkov continued applying pressure on their biggest rivals in a showcase of strength on Saturday night, driving an audience in the Ballerup Super Arena at a brink of ecstasy. Courtesy of their impressively aggressive attitude presented in both Madison races, the coveted pair no. 7 took over the leadership in Six Days of Copenhagen, while wisely riding Germans Lampater and Kalz are currently second, one lap down. The overnight leaders de Buyst and Hester dropped down to third place.


The Saturday evening traditianally kicked-off with sprints competition and the elimination race, but while the former served main title contenders as a warm-up, best pairs of the 2015 Six Days of Copenhagen certainly meant business in the latter, not letting a chance to gain some valuable points to pass them by. Top three combinations decided a victory between themselves, with Michael Morkov outsprinting Jasper de Buyst on the final stretch.


The first Madison of the evening started very quietly, but aggressiveness suddenly exploded with about 30 minutes to go, with breakaway attempts coming from every side of the track. Even though due to countless attacks the situation has been changing very dynamically, there were no doubts that the Danish favourites had the upper hand and controlled the situation, eventually winning the exciting race with their last daring attack and moved themselves into the lead.


Such a dominant performances from Rasmussen and Morkov turned on the heat in the Ballerup Super Arena, both figuratively and literally, as an extatic atmosphere encouraged all riders to give something extra, while a high temparature inside the velodrome made for a very fast racing. In such conditions, the track record has been beaten twice that evening – for the first time by the Danish pair no. 7, to be even more impressively bettered in an impressive effort of de Buyst, riding in front of Hester in the team pursuit. Obviously, the Belgian-Danish pair triumphed in that competition, further strengthening their lead in points.


Derny races and time trial were taken by usual suspects, Nick Stopler, Michael Morkov and Marcel Kalz respectively, but slightly less dynamic final long chase was yet another prove of a Danish domination on Saturday night. Rasmussen and Morkov applied even more pressure on their rivals, who visibly lacked strength to find any sufficient response. Christian Grasmann and Jesper Morkov won the 30-minutes long Madison ahead of de Buyst/Hester and Lampater/Kalz, but the pair no. 7 confirmed their leadership in the general classification.


There will be little time to recover following Saturday's impressive efforts as racing resumes on Sunday afternoon, but both Germans and Belgian-Danish pair will have to make the best of it, should they still dream about beating powerful Rasmussen and Morkov in Copenhagen this year.



The Six Days of Copenhagen classification after day three:
1. Alex Rasmussen – Michael Morkov 225


at 1 lap

2. Leif Lampater – Marcel Kalz 176


at 2 laps

3. Jasper de Buyst – Marc Hester 231

4. Christian Grassman – Jesper Morkov 139


at 3 laps

5. Andreas Muller – Andreas Graf 87


at 17 laps

6. Nick Stopler – Mathias Krigbaum 77


at 20 laps

7. Denis Rugovac – Martic Hacecky 64

8. Martin Blaha – Vojtech Hacecky 41

9. Melvin van Zijl – Didier Caspers 37


at 21 laps

10. Jake Duehring – Daniel Holloway 61


at 27 laps

11. Simon Bigum – Elias Helleskov Busk 70

12. Jiri Hochmann – Achim Burkart 15


at 28 laps

13. Nikola Aistrup – Jonas Aaen 70


at 30 laps

14. Sebastian Wotschke – Hans Pirius 45


at 32 laps

15. Manuel Cazzaro – Filippo Fortin 69



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Sibrecht PIETERS
36 years | today
Juan Enrique DIAZ
40 years | today
42 years | today
38 years | today
35 years | today