uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Defending champion Richie Porte was still Alberto Contador's teammate when the Spaniard last took part in the race, all the way back in 2010

Photo: A.S.O.






26.02.2016 @ 17:42 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

A duo of two-time Paris-Nice winners stand out among the numerous contenders vying for victory from March 6 to 13. Defending champion Richie Porte was still Alberto Contador's teammate when the Spaniard last took part in the race, all the way back in 2010. A lifetime ago...


The Race to the Sun is often filled with question marks, and the answers provided on the Promenade des Anglais or the Col d'Èze cannot always be extrapolated to other events. However, the prize on offer in Nice would make any rider proud… and sets the tune for the season. Pretenders to the crown in 2016 will need to hit the ground running in the prologue in Conflans-Sainte-Honorine, marshal a strong team to avoid nasty surprises on the way to places such as Vendôme and Mont Brouilly and, most importantly, make the difference on the climb to La Madone d'Utelle, the vantage point where the penultimate stage will be decided. Two-time winner (2013 and 2015) Richie Porte boosted his title defence bid by casting off the domestique shackles holding him back in Sky. He claimed his first scalp at the helm of BMC by taking the queen stage of the Tour Down Under, a race he finished in second place overall.
The Australian will try and kick it up a notch in Paris–Nice, but he will be facing stiffer competition. Alberto Contador, another two-time victor (2007 and 2010), looks well placed to bring home the bacon in his return to the Race to the Sun after a five-year hiatus. "El Pistolero" marked the start of his 2016 season with an impressive summit victory in stage 5 of the Volta ao Algarve but, just like in Portugal, he will have to keep a vigilant eye on the ever-consistent Geraint Thomas, now wearing the leader's mantle in Sky. The 15 km climb to La Madone d'Utelle could also play into the hands of Romain Bardet, who was only beaten by Vincenzo Nibali on Oman's Green Mountain. Tom Dumoulin limited his losses to the French climber to under ten seconds in that stage, and Paris–Nice could be an opportunity for him to consolidate his evolution into a stage-race rider. Andrew Talansky, Pierre Rolland, Rui Costa, Simon Yates and Jérôme Coppel also have what it takes to aim for a podium spot or even higher.

The weel-long Paris–Nice will reveal the state of play among the Grand Tour contenders, but it also has something in store for the fast men. With Milan–San Remo looming in the horizon, sprint hunters such as Greipel, Matthews, Kittel, Kristoff, Bouhanni and Démare will be on the prowl. Some will have to go home empty-handed, especially considering the profusion of power riders ready to outwit their teams in tricky finishes: Gallopin, Gilbert, Chavanel, Albasini, Westra, Gougeard and Vichot will be ready to pounce.

22 teams, main contenders (as of February 25)

South Africa
Dimension Data: Farrar (USA), J. Janse van Rensburg (RSA) and Reguigui (LG)

Team Giant–Alpecin: T. Dumoulin (NED) and Geschke (GER)
Orica-GreenEDGE: Albasini (SUI), Matthews (AUS) and Yates (GBR)
Etixx–Quick-Step: Kittel (GER), Boonen (BEL) and Terpstra (NED)
Lotto-Soudal: Gallopin (FRA), De Gendt (BEL) and Greipel (GER)
Movistar Team: Dowsett (GBR), Herrada and Rojas (ESP)
United States
BMC Racing Team: Porte, Dennis (AUS) and Gilbert (BEL)
Cannondale: Rolland (FRA), Slagter (NED) and Talansky (USA)
Trek-Segafredo: Didier and F. Schleck (LUX)
Ag2r–La Mondiale: Bardet, Vuillermoz and Gougeard (FRA)
Fortuneo-Vital Concept: Fédrigo (FRA) and Sepúlveda (ARG)
Cofidis, Solutions Crédits: Bouhanni and Simon (FRA)
FDJ: Démare and Vichot (FRA)
Direct Énergie: Chavanel and Voeckler (FRA)
Delko Marseille Provence KTM: Duque (COL) and Martinez (FRA)
United Kingdom
Team Sky: Thomas (GBR) and Nieve (ESP)
Lampre-Merida: R. Costa (POR) and Meintjes (RSA)
Astana Pro Team: Boom, Westra (NED) and L. L. Sánchez (ESP)
Team LottoNL–Jumbo: Kelderman and Kruijswijk (NED)
Team Katusha: Kristoff (NOR), Špilak (SLO) and Zakarin (RUS)
Tinkoff: Contador (ESP) and Majka (POL)
IAM Cycling: Coppel (FRA) and Denifl (AUT)



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

31 years | today
25 years | today
26 years | today
35 years | today
59 years | today