uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Petrov takes his first victory in Tinkoff-Saxo colours by emerging as the strongest from an 11-rider breakaway; Kennaugh finishes third and extends his overall lead

Photo: Sirotti










11.07.2014 @ 18:23 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Evgeny Petrov took his first win since joining the Tinkoff-Saxo team when he took a huge solo victory in the final mountain stage of the Tour of Austria. Having been part of an 11-rider breakaway, the Russian dropped his companions on the final climb and rode solo to the finish while race leader Peter Kennaugh (Sky) marked his rivals closely, finished third and extended his overall lead with two stages to go.


Last year Evgeny Petrov joined the Tinkoff-Saxo team as then sponsor Oleg Tinkov wanted more Russian riders on the roster. Today he paid back his team for the confidence by winning one of the most prestigious stages of the Tour of Austria in solo fashion.


Petrov was attentive from the start of the stage that included three big category 1 climbs, and made it into an 11-rider group that dominated the race. He survived the first two climbs and finally dropped his companions on the final ascent.


While his chasers were all caught by a select group of favourites, Petrov held on to take the victory, holding off Dayer Quintana (Movistar) and Peter Kennaugh (Sky) who were the strongest among the race favourites. The victory is his first since he won a memorable stage to L’Aquila in the 2010 Giro d’Italia.


After yesterday’s breakaway win for Jesse Sergent, the Tour of Austria continued with a hard mountain stage that brought the riders over 182.6km from St. Johann to a summit finish in Villach-Dobratsch. The first part of the stage contained two big category 1 climbs before a flat section led to the bottom of the final category 1 ascent which summited just 200m from the line.


Again the riders took off in rainy conditions but that didn’t dampen the aggressive spirit. The first part was very fast until a 12-rider group got clear shortly before they hit the first climb. Stephan Rabitsch, Michael Gogl, Gregor Mühlberger Clemens Fankhauser, KOM leader Maxim Belkov, Bob Jungels, Evgeny Petrov, Lawrence Warbasse, Francesco Gavazzi, Francis de Greef, Donato de Ieso und Nicolas Baldo made up the group but Gogl fell off already before the hit ascent. For a long time, he tried to stay clear but finally surrendered.


After Jungels had won the first intermediate sprint, they started to climb and this was too much for Mühlberger and Rabitsch who fell off the pace. As expected, Belkov took maximum points at the top while Sky was setting a steady pace in the peloton, allowing the gap to grow to 8 minutes.


They got some assistance from Gourmetfeil and those two teams combined forces to keep the gap stable between the 7- and 8-minute marks. Meanwhile, Gavazzi won the second intermediate sprint.


On the second climb, Belkov dropped off which allowed Fankhauser to take maximum points on the top. However, the Russian managed to rejoin the group on the descent.


In the valley, Cannondale joined the chase work and now the gap started to come down. Jungels won the final intermediate sprint but as they hit the bottom of the final climb, the escapees were only 3 minutes ahead.


Belkov fell off the pace while Petrov attacked from the bottom. Jungels was his nearest chaser while Fankhauser, De Ieso, Gavazzi and Warbasse were a little further back.


Jungels was passed by De Ieso and joined by Warbasse but they continued to lose ground to the yellow jersey group. The battle between the favourites was on and a group made up of Riccardo Zoidl (Trek), Quintana, Kennaugh, Oliver Zaugg (Tinkoff) and Javier Moreno (Movistar) passed all Petrov’s chasers.


Petrov dug deep and managed to hold on to take the victory while Quintana crossed the line 30 seconds later. Kennaugh was third at 32 seconds and so extended his overall lead as nearest rival Damiano Caruso (Cannondale) could only manage 7th.


Kennaugh now takes a 1.02 lead over Moreno into tomorrow’s 24.1km time trial. The course is completely flat and expected to be one for the specialists.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

27 years | today
Aske Louring VORRE
31 years | today
41 years | today
24 years | today
Cristopher MANSILLA
34 years | today