uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"Then I was able to get back into the right rhythm one more time, bridge the gap to the leaders and sprint for the 9th place. That was the plan - to fight for the top 10, so I can be happy with that result."

Photo: Liquigas-Cannondale






19.04.2015 @ 19:29 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Maciej Paterski has again proved to be in the shape of his life by claiming a top 10 place in the UCI World Tour event Amstel Gold Race. The race belonged to another great Polish cyclist, world champion Michał Kwiatkowski. 

"I didn't feel very well at the beginning of the race but the good sensations came back in the right moment. On the final Cauberg my legs were strong enough to attack. I was hoping that I would be able to maintain my pace all the way to the top. When Gilbert accelerated and caught me, I fell back slightly, but I managed to stay in the second group. Then I was able to get back into the right rhythm one more time, bridge the gap to the leaders and sprint for the 9th place. That was the plan - to fight for the top 10, so I can be happy with that result. The entire team worked very hard for me and Davide [Rebellin] and gave me a lot of comfort," Maciej Paterski said afterwards.   

CCC Sprandi Polkowice kicked off the race from the first row but was not lucky enough to have a representative in the breakaway of the day. The ones who managed to do so were Laurens De Vreese (Astana), Jan Polanc (Lampre-Merida), Timo Roosen (Team LottoNL-Jumbo), Linus Gerdemann (Cult Energy), Johann Van Zyl (MTN - Qhubeka) and Mike Terpstra (Team Roompot Oranje Peloton). They established an 11-minute advantage which was being gradually reduced by the bunch.

With 50km to go, the gap was only one minute. The escape broke apart and the peloton was gradually reeling in the escapees. Later on other attackers took their place in the front – among them there was Vincenzo Nibali. All of those moves were unsuccessful and it was all decided on the final Cauberg hill. Maciej Paterski and Davide Rebellin were both present in the main group.

One of the first one to attack was Paterski, although he was caught by Michael Matthews and Pihilippe Gilbert who counterattacked. The favorites merged after hitting the top, which was located 1,8km from the finish. It came down to a sprint from a small group, which was won by the Polish world champion Michal Kwiatkowski. Despite the strong push earlier, Paterski was able to claim 9th place.


Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Michael Matthews (Orica GreenEdge) took 2nd and 3rd respectively. 



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

29 years | today
46 years | today
35 years | today
36 years | today
26 years | today