uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“We are bringing a well-rounded team with riders that can target stage wins and place highly in the overall classification. Our sprinters, Martijn and Andrea, are in good form. Together, they will be picking their stages and looking f...

Photo: Sirotti




28.07.2015 @ 11:15 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team Novo Nordisk returns to the home of its title sponsor, Novo Nordisk, for the 25th edition of the Tour of Denmark when it kicks off on August 4thin Struer, Denmark.


“This is our third year racing at the Tour of Denmark, so we are hoping to capitalize on our experience of the stages and tough finishing circuits,” Team Novo Nordisk Senior Vice President of Athletics Vassili Davidenko said. “It is great to race in Denmark; we see Novo Nordisk flags flying all along the course and love hearing the cheers from our fans. It motivates our riders to push that much harder.”


Eighteen teams will contest the UCI 2.HC race, including four World Tour teams. At last year’s race, Team Novo Nordisk’s Chris Williams earned the Most Aggressive Rider competition on Stage 4 following a bold late race move that saw the Australian nearly hold on for a solo win. The world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling team aims to build upon those results at this year’s race. The team’s roster features James Glasspool (AUS), Joonas Henttala (FIN), David Lozano (ESP), Javier Megias (ESP), Andrea Peron (ITA), Charles Planet (FRA), Martijn Verschoor (NED) and Chris Williams (AUS).


“We are bringing a well-rounded team with riders that can target stage wins and place highly in the overall classification,” Davidenko said. “Our sprinters, Martijn and Andrea, are in good form. Together, they will be picking their stages and looking for a top result.”


After being awarded the Most Aggressive Rider honors for his bold late-race move last year, Williams is eager for the team to earn more podium appearances at this year’s race.



Chris Williams (AUS) is awarded Most Agressive Rider on stage of last year’s Post Danmark Rundt


“Last year was quite bittersweet. I earned the most aggressive rider’s award for attacking and racing hard, but I also missed a chance to stand on the top of the podium by meters,” Williams said. “I will race aggressively again this year and hopefully we can do better. Every day, I will be looking to be in a break that makes it to the finish line, as well as supporting my teammates, so that we can give our fans something to cheer about in our ‘home’ race.”


While Team Novo Nordisk is bringing a roster deep with experience to the Danish race, one rider is making his Tour of Denmark debut: Australian, James Glasspool. The neo-pro is a five-time Australian National Track Champion, Australian Team Pursuit Champion (2010), Australian Kilometre Time Trial Champion (2012) and part of the Australian Track World Championship team (2009, 2012).


The Tour of Denmark kicks off on Tuesday, August 4th with a 180-kilometer stage that begins in Struer and heads along the North Sea before turning inland for three finishing laps around Holstebro. Stage 2 serves as the longest stage of the race at 235 km. Stage 3 is the race’s queen stage, or most challenging stage, and this year’s profile is considered the toughest stage in the race’s history. Friday includes a double-day, or a morning stage race followed by an afternoon 13.6-km time trial, before the final stage ends in Copenhagen.


Team Novo Nordisk Roster Post Danmark Rundt-Tour of Denmark (Aug 4-8):

James Glasspool (AUS), Joonas Henttala (FIN), David Lozano (ESP), Javier Megias (ESP), Andrea Peron (ITA), Charles Planet (FRA), Martijn Verschoor (NED) and Chris Williams (AUS).



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

28 years | today
45 years | today
20 years | today
38 years | today
24 years | today