uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“One guy came behind me and we worked together. We caught the rider who had already attacked and all three of us took turns, but the peloton was fast, and everyone was attacking from behind."

Photo: Sirotti




06.08.2015 @ 00:26 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team Novo Nordisk’s Charles Planet excelled in a late race attack that not only showed the Frenchman’s mid-season form but solidified his confidence heading into a long block of racing.


“I’m really happy today because after a big gap from racing during the summer, I didn’t know where my form was,” Planet said. “I worked really for my form and now I can see that it’s okay. I felt really good, and I have more confidence for the next few days and races.”


At 235 kilometers, Wednesday’s Stage 2 served as the longest stage in the race’s 25-year history. Six riders attacked and quickly built a sizable gap of more than seven minutes as they raced across Denmark from Ringkøbing to Aarhus. With 60 km remaining, the breakaway splintered. Planet recognized an opportunity and as some of the break was swept up, he attacked. Several riders followed and eventually they formed the four-man lead group. Despite their efforts, the peloton reeled them back. Yet Planet wasn’t ready to give up and attempted to get into another break, but the peloton kept the race well managed. As they reached the finishing circuits around Aarhus, several riders got out front but the race came down to a bunch sprint with Edvald Boasson Hagen (MTN-Qhubeka) winning.


“We missed the break and I saw an opportunity in the last 60 km, so I tried and attacked,” Planet said. “One guy came behind me and we worked together. We caught the rider who had already attacked and all three of us took turns, but the peloton was fast, and everyone was attacking from behind. When we were back in the bunch, I wanted to attack one more time because you never know.”


Edvald Boasson Hagen (MTN-Qhubeka) took the win ahead of teammate Kristian Sbaragli (MTN-Qhubeka). Soren Anderson (Team Trefor-Blue Water) rounded out the podium.


Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling squad, continues racing at the Post Danmark Rundt on Thursday with Stage 3. The 185-km race serves as the race’s Queen Stage with three categorized climbs and one intermediate sprint before reaching three hilly finishing laps around Vejle.



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

Karol David Torres RESTREPO
34 years | today
26 years | today
33 years | today
Jason Van DALEN
26 years | today
29 years | today