uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“We know what to expect; we have learned a lot about the PostNord Danmark Rundt over the years. It is a great country with lovely fans and our experience will help us with our day-by-day race strategies.”

Team Novo Nordisk (Photo by Lars Ronbog / FrontZoneSport via Getty Images)






20.07.2016 @ 18:39 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Team Novo Nordisk is seeking breakaways and podiums when it heads back to the PostNord Danmark Rundt for the fourth consecutive year. The five-day Danish race begins on July 27th in Herning, Denmark.


“Denmark is home to our title sponsor, Novo Nordisk, so we definitely want to perform well,” Team Novo Nordisk Senior Vice President of Athletics Vassili Davidenko said. “The race is always interesting because of the young talents racing there, including our own young riders. We are targeting podiums and plan to race aggressively in breakaways.”


Sixteen teams will contest the UCI 2.HC race, including three World Tour teams. In 2014, Team Novo Nordisk’s Chris Williams earned the Most Aggressive Rider on Stage 4 following a bold late race move that saw the Australian nearly hold on for a solo win. The world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling team aims to be on the podium at this year’s race. The team’s roster features James Glasspool, Joonas Henttala, Nicolas Lefrançois, David Lozano, Andrea Peron, Charles Planet, Martijn Verschoor and Chris Williams. Only Lefrançois is making his PostNord Danmark Rundt debut.


“We know what to expect; we have learned a lot about the PostNord Danmark Rundt over the years,” Davidenko said. “It is a great country with lovely fans and our experience will help us with our day-by-day race strategies.”


Slated to start his fourth PostNord Danmark Rundt, Williams is known for featuring in breakaways and brings a wealth of experience to the race. 


“Normally, the PostNord Danmark Rundt is our first race back after a relatively long mid-season break, so historically it has been challenging to get back into hard racing. This year, we had a much shorter break and many of us will be coming in from the Tour de Pologne,” Williams said. “Hopefully this will give us a lot more speed in our legs. I always look to race boldly, so my goals will be to race aggressively again there this year. The PostNord Danmark Rundt is a big race and we always want to show the Team Novo Nordisk jersey at the front of the peloton.”


The PostNord Danmark Rundt kicks off on Wednesday, July 27th with a relatively flat 200-kilometer stage beginning in Herning and heading south before finishing in the seaport town of Esbjerg on the Jutland Peninsula. Stage 2 begins in Romo and the peloton will have to fight strong winds before a technical finish in Sonderborg. Stage 3 is the race’s Queen stage and ends with a three-lap finishing circuit featuring a climb of 21 percent. Stage 4 is a 20-km time trial that starts and finishes in Nyborg. The five-day race ends with a 175-km stage beginning in Karrebaeksminde and runs past castles in Gisselfeld, Bregentved and Vallo before ten finishing laps in Frederiksberg.


Team Novo Nordisk Roster PostNord Danmark Rundt -Tour of Denmark (July 27-31):

James Glasspool, Joonas Henttala, Nicolas Lefrançois, David Lozano, Andrea Peron, Charles Planet, Martijn Verschoor and Chris Williams.                           



One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50

Currently no news in this list

23 years | today
Matthijs DELEN
42 years | today
32 years | today
Yuanyuan TIAN
28 years | today
Hengyan ZHANG
22 years | today