uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“In 2016, we earned more top five results than any season, and we are eager to keep building on these results to inspire, educate and empower everyone around the world affected by diabetes.”

Photo: / Henriette Brandt


17.11.2016 @ 15:50 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes professional cycling team, will race its fifth season with an expanded roster of 19 athletes from eight countries. Six new riders, including stagiaires Quentin Valognes (FRA) and Rik van IJzendoorn (NED), both who raced with the men’s professional team since August, are part of Team Novo Nordisk’s 2017 roster.

"Team Novo Nordisk is ready to take on its fifth season with our largest squad to date. We're all excited to see what these talented athletes, especially the five riders coming up from our development squad, can accomplish in 2017," Team Novo Nordisk CEO and co-founder Phil Southerland said. “In 2016, we earned more top five results than any season, and we are eager to keep building on these results to inspire, educate and empower everyone around the world affected by diabetes.”


In order to become a member of Team Novo Nordisk, all athletes must have type 1 diabetes. Since its launch in December 2012, the organization has focused heavily on identifying and developing endurance athletes from around the world with diabetes, building junior and development squads currently totaling 31 athletes. 


Five of Team Novo Nordisk’s six new athletes are products of its development program. Fabio Calabria (AUS), Reid McClure (CAN), Umberto Poli (ITA), Valognes and van IJzendoorn all spent at least one season racing on the development squad; Valognes has been with Team Novo Nordisk since its inception in 2013. 


Newcomer Romain Gioux (FRA) approached the team after racing as an amateur for French team’s Cycliste de Varennes-Vauzelles and Vélo Sport Chartrain. In late 2016, Gioux was asked to race with the team’s development squad at the East Bohémia Tour. His performance there earned him a contract for the 2017 season. 


"We have spent four years nurturing our development program and it is rewarding to move five devo riders up to our pro squad. Each of these riders adds depth to our team, and we are excited to witness their years with our development team turn into results within the pro ranks,” Team Novo Nordisk Senior Vice President of Athletics Vassili Davidenko said. "We strengthened our men’s pro team with these new riders and added new staff. We believe these changes will lead to more results.”  


This season, the Team Novo Nordisk men’s professional squad competed in its first World Tour stage race, Tour de Pologne. Across 43 races in 23 countries, Team Novo Nordisk earned its best overall result to date when Javier Megias (ESP) finished second overall at the Tour of Korea. The Spaniard went on to earn the team its best finish at a UCI 2.HC race when he took 14th overall at the Tour of California. Other highlights of the season include Martijn Verschoor (NED) sprinting to fifth on Stage 1 of the Tour of California and the team winning its first team classification at the Tour of Estonia.  As of November 16, 2016, the team has amassed a total of nine top five finishes, the most in its four-year history.


The full 2017 roster includes:
Andrea Peron – ITA
Brian Kamstra – NED
Charles Planet – FRA
Chris Williams – AUS
Corentin Cherhal - FRA
David Lozano – ESP
Fabio Calabria - AUS
Gerd de Keijzer - NED
James Glasspool - AUS
Javier Megias – ESP
Joonas Henttala – FIN
Martijn Verschoor – NED
Mehdi Benhamouda - FRA
Quentin Valognes – FRA
Reid McClure - CAN
Rik van IJzendoorn – NED
Romain Gioux - FRA
Stephen Clancy – IRL
Umberto Poli - ITA




1st, Alabama State Road Race Championship
3rd, Mt. Victory Road Race



1st, Tennessee State Road Race Championship
2nd, Georgia Cycling Gran Prix, Stage 4
2nd, Foothills Cup Road Race



1st, Georgia Cycling Grand Prix, Stage 2
1st,  Georgia Cycling Grand Prix, Stage 6
2nd, Mt. Victory Road Race
2nd, Belgian Kermesse 



9th, Tour of Yancheng Coastal Wetlands **as stagiaire with men’s professional team
1st, Tour de l’Abitibi Desjardins, Stage 5 (2014)  
1st, Tour de l’Abitibi Desjardins, Stage 6 (2014) 
3rd, French National Keirin Championship (2014)


Van IJzendoorn:

4th, Healthy Newton Omnium
5th, Mt. Victory Road Rac



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

31 years | today
43 years | today
32 years | today
41 years | today
32 years | today