uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Nibali to start his season in San Luis

"It will be my first race of the year and I will be fine, although I am aware that the opponents will have a high level, which will make the test even more spectacular and hard."






14.11.2015 @ 07:00 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

For the sixth time in his career, Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) will start his season in the Tour de San Luis (January 18-24) next year. The goal is to prepare for another great grand tour season after finishing fourth in the Tour France, being expelled from the Vuelta a Espana after the second stage and ending the year by winning Il Lombardia.


Nibali chose the Argentine race as his first event in 2009, 2010 when he won, 2012 when he was fourth, 2013 and 2014. It's a start that brings good memories as he won the Vuelta in 2010, the Giro in 2013 and the Tour in 2014. 


In 2016, Nibali debut in Argentina, with the intention of returning to the path of success in thebig stage races. "After a year's absence, I'm happy to return to San Luis," explains the leader of the Astana team. "It's a race that I am very attached to and that brings me good memories, such as the victory in 2010."


"It will be my first race of the year," explains the Italian, "and I will be fine, although I am aware that the opponents will have a high level, which will make the test even more spectacular and hard."


Although his main goal will be the Giro d'Italia, Nibali still does not know his racing program. It is not ruled out that he will do the Tour in support of Aru while preparing the Rio Olympic Games whose couse is perfectly suited to his characteristics. What is certain is that San Luis will be his first race. "I'll arrive a few days earlier to train," sayd the leader of Astana. "The roads, the weather in the Argentinean summer and the San Luis atmosphere make it an ideal place to start the season," he adds.


Nairo Quintana, Peter Sagan, Rafal Majka, Fernando Gaviria, Tom Boonen, Andrew Talansky and Alexis Vuillermoz are all expected to do the race which will have a team time trial and two summit finishes.



Dani Diaz won the 2015 ahead of Torres and Quintana.The Movistar Colombiam won in 2014. Diaz won for the first time in 2013, Levi Leipheimer took the victory in 2012 and Vincenzo Nibali in 2010.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

47 years | today
52 years | today
43 years | today
Dominic MESTRE
31 years | today
29 years | today