uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Nibali shoots for his third victory; Valverde, Uran, Chaves, Rodriguez and Van Garderen are among his main GC rivals 

Photo: Sirotti


29.02.2016 @ 15:40 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The 51st edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico will feature many stars on the start line. Nibali shoots for his third victory; Valverde, Uran, Chaves, Rodriguez and Van Garderen are among his main GC rivals – with many time trial specialists, Classics riders and sprinters looking for stage wins.


Racing from the Tyrrhenian Sea to the Adriatic Sea, through seven stages which favour every kind of specialist: finisseurs, cronomen and sprinters. It starts with the Team Time Trial on Stage 1 and ends with the Individual Time Trial; in between are two sprinter stages, two stages for the finisseurs and a mountain top finish – 1,208 metres above sea level of Monte San Vicino. Listed here are all the riders who form the provisional entry list of the ‘Race of the Two Seas’, from 9 to 15 March, organised by RCS Sport/La Gazzetta dello Sport.

The main challengers for the overall GC victory are lead by Vincenzo Nibali, who shows good form by recently winning in Oman, and is looking for his tris after his 2012 and 2013 edition Tirreno-Adriatico victories. Alejandro Valverde, who won February’s Ruta del Sol, is definitely one contender to threaten "The Shark". Rigoberto Uran – one of the great protagonists of the last few years in the Giro d’Italia – Esteban Chaves – an emerging climber and winner of the inaugural Abu Dhabi Tour – Joaquin Rodriguez and Tejay Van Garderen – who starts the Tirreno-Adriatico for the first time – are among the favourites.

World Champion Peter Sagan, alongside Fabian Cancellara, Greg Van Avermaet, Michał Kwiatkowski, Taylor Phinney, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Daniel Martin, Tony Martin, Diego Ulissi, Davide Formolo and Daniel Moreno have the speed and power to make them the men to watch in the finisseur stages (Pomarance and Foligno) and in the final Individual Time Trial in San Benedetto del Tronto.

The fight among the sprinters is set to be very open, with some of the very best at the start of the race such as Mark Cavendish, Elia Viviani, Caleb Ewan, Fernando Gaviria, Moreno Hofland, Sasha Modolo, Heinrich Haussler and Giacomo Nizzolo challenging for stage victories – Montalto di Castro and Cepagatti are the best stages for the fastest wheels.


In the last five years Tirreno-Adriatico has been won by a rider that, in the same year, went on to podium at one of the Grand Tours:


2011 – Cadel Evans, Tour de France winner
2012 – Vincenzo Nibali, Tour de France third position
2013 – Vincenzo Nibali, Giro d’Italia winner and Vuelta a España runner-up
2014 – Alberto Contador, Vuelta a España winner
2015 – Nairo Quintana, Tour de France runner-up



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Giliam Van Den THILLART
42 years | today
38 years | today
Alistair DONOHOE
29 years | today
36 years | today
Alessandro MOTTA
22 years | today