uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

It was a five-man breakaway that led the way for most of the stage, but towards the final it was absorbed back into the field, making it to a bunch sprint that was won by Mugerli

Photo: Sirotti








07.05.2016 @ 00:17 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Matej Mugerli made it back-to-back wins for Synergy Baku Cycling Project, sprinting to victory on the third stage of the Tour d’Azerbaidjan. Second place again went to Markus Eibegger (Team Felbermayr Simplon Wels) ahead of Luca Wackermann (NASR-Dubai), one second back.

Race leader Guillaume Boivin (Cycling Academy Team) lost his jersey today to Daniel Schorn (Team Felbermayr Simplon Wels) who finished fourth. On count back of finishing positions he is the new leader in the general classification. Schorn also assumes the lead in the green sprint jersey competition. The mountain competition and the best young rider saw no change on today's stage, with Mauro Finetto (Unieuro Wilier) and Ildar Arslanov (Gazprom-Rusvelo) maintaining their leads.

It was a five-man breakaway that led the way for most of the stage, but towards the final it was absorbed back into the field, making it to a bunch sprint that was won by Mugerli.

The peloton took off in Gabala under cloudy circumstances. It didn’t take long for the breakaway to form, with Sulzberger (Drapac Pro Cycling), Kurbatov (Gazprom-Rusvelo), Tybor (Dukla Banska Bystrica), Scotson (Team Illuminate), Saleh (Terengganu Cycling Team) moving clear of the bunch after just a few kilometers of racing.

Having taken the win at the first intermediate sprint, Saleh dropped back from the leading group. Soon after, Kurbatov was also not able to follow the wheels leaving three leaders up the road. At the start of the first and only climb of today's stage, the gap between the leaders and the peloton was 2'50" minutes.

Miles Scotson (Team Illuminate) won the mountain points after out sprinting Sulzberger (Drapac Pro Cycling) at the top of the climb. The three riders in the breakaway managed to maintain a decent advantage at the front of the race, with the gap hovering between two and three minutes for almost the whole stage. The second intermediate sprint was won by Tybor (Dukla Banska Bystrica), after this win he also was dropped from the leading group before they headed into the final 20 KM.

In the final 10 KM the two leaders were caught, making it a bunch sprint in Gabala. The final sprint was a tough, uphill rise making for a hard end to the stage, but Mugerli showed he was the strongest on the line, comfortably taking the win, and continuing his team's strong showing at their home race.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

26 years | today
Srboslav PAJIC
40 years | today
Esteban NOLLA
42 years | today
39 years | today
50 years | today