uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Nairo Quintana and Javier Moreno were appointed to lead Movistar rosters consisting of highly reliable riders at Tour Down Under and Tour de San Luis respectively

Photo: Movistar Team










18.12.2013 @ 08:00 Posted by Aleksandra Górska

The best World Tour team of 2013 season according to UCI team rankings, Movistar, looks for a strong kick off to the upcoming season as they are aiming to begin the title defence with rosters containing of some experienced riders, capable of fighting for stage and overall victories at both inaugural events: Santos Tour Down Under and Tour de San Luis.


Successful riders of the Spanish team, Nairo Quintana and Javier Moreno, should be provided with yet another opportunity to shine sincee they were appointed as Movistar leaders at Tour Down Under and Tour de San Luis respectively. Events inaugurating 2014 season, both taking place on the Southern Hemisphere, will serve as a chance to sport the stylish outfit of the telephone squad for the first time for three newly signed riders: sprinter Juan Jose Lobato in Argentina, while talented Adriano Malori who moved from Lampre-Merida and another Colombian climbing star named Quintana, Nairo’s younger brother Dayer in Australia.


Apart from his younger brother, Quintana will be supported by highly reliable and consistent group of renowned riders: Benat Intxausti, Andrey Amador, Adriano Malori and Fran Ventoso who took a stage victory at Tour Down Under back in 2010 season. Unquestionably strong roster is an indication of Movistar’s great expectations  connected with the event held in Australia, which turned out to be very fruitful for the best World Tour team last seasons, resulting in stage wins, podium finishes and victory in the team classification


In Argentina, Javier Moreno will try to improve his results from the previous edition of Tour de San Luis, when he managed to finish second in the overall classification. At the demanding race, containing three mountain-top finishes in the Mirador Potrero, El Amago and the Mirador del Sol and a 19km time trial concluding the event, Moreno will be supported by Imanol Erviti, Iván Gutiérrez, Juan Jose Lobato, Rubén Plaza, José Joaquín Rojas and Giovanni Visconti as the only non-Spanish rider in the roster.



Movistar 2014 Tour Down Under team: Imanol Erviti, Iván Gutiérrez, Juan Jose Lobato, Javier Moreno, Rubén Plaza, José Joaquín Rojas and Giovanni Visconti


Movistar 2014 Tour de San Luis team: Andrey Amador, Beñat Intxausti, Adriano Malori, Dayer Quintana, Nairo Quintana and Fran Ventoso.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

39 years | today
Matias GREVE
32 years | today
41 years | today
33 years | today
27 years | today