uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

With a time of 10.37, the Moroccan national team beat Eritrea and Bretagne into the minor podium spots in the Tropicale Amissa Bongo team time trial; the stage didn't count for the overall classification

Photo: Sirotti




21.02.2015 @ 01:29 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Morocco created a big surprise when the 5 riders left from the national team won the team time trial in the Tropicale Amissa Bongo. On the short 8.5km circuit in Port Gentil, they beat Eritrea by 11 seconds while Bretagne was the best professional team in third. Due to the circumstances, the stage doesn't count in the battle for the overall win


When smaller teams line up against the professional teams in the very special discipline of team time trialling, they usually get a beating by the squads who do this kind of exercise more regularly. Hence, today’s evening team time trial in the Tropicale Amissa Bongo was expected to be a battle between the three European powerhouses Europcar, Bretagne and Wanty-Group Gobert.


When the dust had settled on the 8.5km circuit in Port Gentil, however, it was the Moroccon National Team who stood on the podium as the winner of stage 6 of the biggest African race. Despite being down to just 5 riders and up against several 6-rider teams, they were faster than anybody else, beating Eritrea by 11 seconds while Bretagne were best among the professionals in third.


The stage took place on a short, non-technical 8.5km course in Gentil and was completely flat. Taking place in the evening, the event had to be postponed for two hours before Ivory Coast could finally roll down the ramp to kick off the action.


The team set a time of 12.22 to take an early lead but it was the local heroes from Gabon who took the early place in the hot seat when they covered the distance in 11.41. Meanwhile, the first European teams Bike Aid and Roth Skoda who had both lost several riders in the first five stages, suffered and lost significant time.


Morocco were among the early starters and they proved their strength when they shaved 1.04 off the best mark. They were expected to be beaten by the Bretagne team who were the next to finish but the French Tour de France participants missed the mark by 14 seconds.


South Africa had a decent rider to post a time of 11.13 but it was Eritrea who gave the Moroccans a scare. In the end, however, they could only manage 10.48 and so had to settle for second.


Cameroun and Algeria both had decent riders with 11.24 and 11.10 respectively before Rwanda powered across the line in the fourth best time, stopping the clock in 10.53. However, all eyes were now on the Wanty-Groupe Gobert team but the Belgian team had a disastrous ride to stop the clock in 13.06.


Only two teams were now left on the course and it was expected that Team Europcar would be in the mix. However, the biggest team in the race was also far off the mark and could only manage 11.57.


The final team down the ramp was race leader Rafaa Chtioui’s Skydive Dubai team but they were not in the mix either. Stopping the clock in 11.46, they could only manage 9th, meaning that Morocco took a hugely surprising win.


Due to the circumstances, the stage didn't count towards the overall classification and so Chtioui defended his overall lead of 2.24 over Giovanni Bernadeau (Europcar). He now just has to survive the final two sprint stages before he can be crowned overall winner of the race. The first of those is tomorrow’s 127km circuit race in Port Gentil that is expected to come down to a big bunch kick.



3 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Tour Down Under champions to lead Mitchelton-SCOTT 22.01.2019 @ 09:40Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18One for the road 04.09.2018 @ 15:25Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10List of CyclingQuotes previews 13.10.2017 @ 13:20Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13Lampre leave the peloton 04.01.2017 @ 17:03Nibali to skip the classics 04.01.2017 @ 16:58Kolobnev announces retirement 04.01.2017 @ 15:08Young Dimension Data team targets third consecutive win... 04.01.2017 @ 14:01Vakoc leads Quick-Step at Tour Down Under 04.01.2017 @ 13:58Puncheur course for 2017 Arctic Race of Norway 04.01.2017 @ 13:55Ewan makes it itwo in row at Criterium Championships 04.01.2017 @ 13:53Track world champion wins Australian U23 criterium title 04.01.2017 @ 13:50Orica-Scott target numerous Australian titles 04.01.2017 @ 13:47

Currently no news in this list


22 years | today
Frédérick BÉLANGER
43 years | today
33 years | today
Victorie GUILMAN
23 years | today
33 years | today