uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“When the top riders broke loose at Haaghoek our riders had to pass. I don’t blame any of them, it was just how it was. Of course we would have liked to set a better result, but this young team performed well as a whole."

Photo: Lotto Soudal






28.02.2015 @ 20:18 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

The first Belgian race of 2015 is over. Ian Stannard was the best in the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, just like last year. Lotto Soudal rider Sean De Bie was part of the front group when he had chain problems. Jens Debusschere crossed the finish line as twelfth, the first rider of the Lotto Soudal team.



Sean De Bie bridged to a front group of six together with Albert Timmer. Because of chain problems he fell behind when they covered the cobblestones at Haaghoek for the first time today. Seventy kilometres further the Kruisberg was the start of the final. At the top Stig Broeckx jumped away. Sky controlled the bunch at that point, chasing the front group, and soon Broeckx waited. On the Taaienberg the battle could really start in the peloton. There were five Lotto Soudal riders in the pack: Tiesj Benoot, Stig Broeckx, Jens Debusschere, Pim Ligthart and Marcel Sieberg. The escapees were all reeled in with 45 kilometres to go.


The last time at Haaghoek teammates Boonen, Terpstra and Vandenbergh took off with Ian Stannard. Pim Ligthart was the first rider of Lotto Soudal, but he couldn’t join them. Vanmarcke and Van Avermaet – with Stybar in their wheel – tried to close the gap, but didn’t succeed. In a sprint of two Ian Stannard beat Niki Terpstra. Belgian champion Jens Debusschere was the first Lotto Soudal rider today. He sprinted to the fourth place of a group of 34 and finished twelfth at almost five minutes.


“When we covered the cobbles at Haaghoek for the second time I was just behind a crash," Debusschere said. "It wasn’t a decisive moment yet, but it did cost me energy to close the gap on the first part of the peloton. On the Kruisberg we were well positioned with the team. On the Molenberg, the last climb of the day, I had to brake because of a move of another rider. So I couldn’t even try to join the chase with Vanmarcke or Gilbert. The last twenty kilometres the peloton dropped the pace, I wanted to do my best to still get a nice result.”



“Our riders did what we had asked them," sports director Herman Frison said. "If a front group of four or more would get away someone of our team should join them. Sean De Bie closed the gap on a break of six. Unfortunately he had mechanical problems. He had to continue on a bike from the neutral car for a while.



“Our riders were well positioned to start the Kruisberg, the start of the final. At that point we had five riders in the peloton. After the Kruisberg Stig Broeckx attacked, but it wasn’t the perfect moment as Sky took control of the bunch. That’s why Stig soon waited for the others. But I prefer someone who takes the initiative and tries then that we all hang at the back.



“When the top riders broke loose at Haaghoek our riders had to pass. I don’t blame any of them, it was just how it was. Of course we would have liked to set a better result, but this young team performed well as a whole. De Bie and Broeckx attacked and Benoot did well in his first Omloop as a pro. Ligthart and Debusschere raced attentively. Tomorrow is another day, with Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne.”


Selection Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne:

Lars Bak, Kris Boeckmans, Stig Broeckx, Jens Debusschere, Gert Dockx, Greg Henderson, Pim Ligthart and Marcel Sieberg.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

04.05 - 26.05: Giro d'Italia
19.05 - 26.05: Tour of Japan
21.05 - 26.05: Bretagne Ladies Tour
22.05 - 26.05: Alpes Isère Tour
23.05 - 26.05: Tour du Pays de Vaud
23.05 - 26.05: Boucles de la Mayenne
23.05 - 26.05: Tour of Norway
23.05 - 26.05: Tour de la Mirabelle
23.05 - 26.05: Tour de Feminin
24.05 - 26.05: Ford RideLondon Classique
23 years | today
Kirstie JAMES
35 years | today
26 years | today
Giovanni ALEOTTI
25 years | today
29 years | today