uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

De Buyst and Ligthart won the final madison on the fourth day to take the lead with more points than previous leaders Lampater/Stöpler

Photo: Sirotti






24.10.2014 @ 11:06 Posted by Emil Axelgaard
Jasper De Buyst and Pim Ligthart convincingly claimed the lead in the 22nd Amsterdam Six-Day on Thursday. The Belgian-Dutch duo held an extraordinary high pace throughout night four and pushed Leif Lampater and Nick Stöpler out of the lead. The Dutch-German duo is now second overall. They are on the same lap as the leaders, but their points total is significantly lower: 244 versus 168.
Danish riders Alex Rasmussen and Marc Hester sit third, one lap down. They have 190 points, but feel the hot breath of home favourites Niki Terpstra and Yoeri Havik (185 points) on the backs of their necks.
Millimetre sprint
De Buyst and Ligthart, teammates at Lotto-Belisol next year, started the fourth evening with two second places. In the spectacular first Madison they couldn’t prevent Rasmussen and Hester from taking the win in a millimetre sprint.  Terpstra and Havik outsprinted the two in the elimination race.
De Buyst and Ligthart followed up with two victories. First, the Belgian member of the duo triumphed in the first derny race and immediately after, the Dutch half claimed the victory in the first of two keirin races. 
As expected, the final Madison was a clash among the four strongest teams. Attacks followed each other in rapid succession, but as the race wore on, no other team was able to handle the speed of De Buyst and Ligthart. 
Island 200
The Americans of Island 200 showed their strongest form during Thursday’s racing. Daniel Holloway won the second derny race in phenomenal style, while his friend and teammate, Guy East, received flowers for taking the second keirin race.
Overall standings:

1 Pim Ligthart - Jasper De Buyst 244 points

2 Leif Lampater - Nick Stöpler 168 points


1 lap:

3 Alex Rasmussen - Marc Hester 190 points

4 Niki Terpstra - Yoeri Havik 142 points


11 laps:

5 Denis Rugovac - Sebastian Wotschke 62 points


13 laps:

6 Melvin Boskamp - Jesper Asselman 103 points


14 laps:

7 Luke Roberts - Tim Veldt 111 points


18 laps:

8 Didier Caspers - Melvin van Zijl 32 points


19 laps

9 Dylan Groenewegen - Nolan Hoffmann 80 points


21 laps

10 Guy East - Daniel Holloway 32 points

11 Marco Zanotti - Mitchell Huenders 7 points


22 laps

12 Christian Kos - Patrick Kos 46 points



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

Alexander EROFEEV
39 years | today
40 years | today
46 years | today
63 years | today
19 years | today