uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

"We played it very well tactically. We did what we had to do with Marcato."

Photo: ©Kramon






23.08.2015 @ 22:17 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Today the Grote Prijs Jef Scherens took place in Leuven, Belgium. Bjorn Leukemans won this UCI 1.1-race. It is the team's fifth victory of the season and the second one this year for Bjorn Leukemans.


Early on in the race a breakaway of no less than 40 riders formed. They were never to be caught. In that first group Wanty-Groupe Gobert was represented by four riders: Bjorn Leukemans, Marco Marcato, Frederik Veuchelen and Marco Minnaard.


"I was happy to see four guys in that first group," sports director Van Der Schueren reflected. "But I would have liked to have two more, even."


The course was made up by 13 laps of 14 kilometres. This made it hard for the chasers to get organized. At 90 kilometres from the finish Bjorn Leukemans and Marco Marcato decided to make the race even more active. Their attack caused a first selection in that large first group.


"We talked together and found that not everyone in that first group did their fair share," Leukemans declared. Together with Vegard Breen, Marc McNally and Wout Van Aert, the Wanty-Groupe Gobert duo wasn't caught back except for the Vérandas Willems tandem, Gâetan Bille and Dimitri Claeys.


"I thought the attack was way too early in the race but I couldn't tell them because there was no communication with the riders. Eventually we win this race, therefore the decision to attack there was the right one," Van Der Schueren admitted.


The final decision took place in the final lap. After an attack by Marcato on the Wijnpers, the Italian set up a second attack for Leukemans.


"We played it very well tactically. We did what we had to do with Marcato," Leukemans commented. The rider from the province of Antwerp arrived solo in Leuven. Dimitri Claeys and Marc McNally rounded up the other podium places. Marco Marcato finished fifth.


"We took the main course from the start. We had four riders in the group of 40. It was the ideal scenario. Then, since everyone did not take their turns, I discussed with Marco Marcato. We decided to attack with 6.5 laps to go. We could not afford to arrive in a sprint. In the last lap, Marco Marcato attacked a first time. Marc McNally followed. I made my counterattack immediately. I was able to arrive alone. This victory is good for the team. "

"It is a good win which comes at a good moment," Hilaire Van der Schueren concluded.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

11.06 - 14.06: Škoda Tour de Maurice
15.06: GP Eccellenze Valli del Soligo
07.06 - 16.06: Tour du Maroc
09.06 - 16.06: Tour de Suisse
09.06 - 16.06: Giro d'Italia Next Gen
12.06 - 16.06: Tour de Beauce
12.06 - 16.06: Tour of Slovenia
12.06 - 16.06: Baloise Belgium Tour
12.06 - 16.06: Tour de Kurpie
13.06 - 16.06: Oberösterreich Rundfahrt
Minghui NIU
22 years | today
28 years | today
43 years | today
Eglantine RAYER
20 years | today
53 years | today