uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

“It was an eventful end to an otherwise quiet stage for us. Merhawi crashed about 5km out. He was a bit battered and bruised but he made it back into the bunch. Tsgabu [Grmay] saw him tumble and immediately stopped and gave Merhawi hi...

Photo: Sirotti






04.03.2014 @ 11:10 Posted by Emil Axelgaard

Team MTN-Qhubeka had a late scare in today's otherwise straightforward sixth stage of the Tour de Langkawi when the team's climbing sensation Merhawi Kudus crashed with 5km to go. The Eritrean had to ride full gas to rejoin the peloton before the finish but managed to defend his 2nd place on GC.


Kenny van Hummel (Androni Giocattoli) won the 6th stage of the Le Tour de Langkawi in a bunch sprint. The Dutch sprinter was able to get the better of Aidis Kruopis (Orica GreenEdge) and Ken Hanson (UnitedHealthcare) in the final few meters to claim the victory.


It was a rather standard sprinters stage today as a group of 4 riders went off the front of the peloton and weren’t allowed much more than a 2’30” lead. The escapees could see the sprinters teams were not going to let them go today and so with 20km to go they gave up their lead.


Coming into the final 10km the pace was really high as Colombia, Belkin and Astana were trying to set up the stage for their sprinters. Until this point Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung had had a rather quiet day in the bunch. It was in these closing kilometers that the team had a slight scare when Merhawi Kudus, 2nd on GC for Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung, crashed at high speed. Luckily the young Eritrean was not badly injured and could rely on some strong team support to get him back into the race.


“It was an eventful end to an otherwise quiet stage for us. Merhawi crashed about 5km out. He was a bit battered and bruised but he made it back into the bunch. Tsgabu [Grmay] saw him tumble and immediately stopped and gave Merhawi his bike,” said Directeur Sportif Kevin Campbell after the stage finish today.


Youcef Reguigui, the Algerian sprinter on Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung once again showed a good turn of speed in the final sprint to the line. With 3 top 10 placings already at Le Tour de Langkawi this week, Reguigui was able to place 8th today after being slightly boxed in during the last 500m.


Team MTN-Qhubeka p/b Samsung was able to retain its lead in the team classification and still has 3 riders placed in the top 10 of the overall classification going into the final 4 stages. Tomorrow the peloton will tackle the longest stage of the race, 230km from Kota Tinggi to Pekan, which is expected to finish in a bunch sprint once again.



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

21 years | today
Harrison WOOD
24 years | today
Jenson YOUNG
23 years | today
Anthony CLARK
37 years | today
Yoshimasa AIMOTO
31 years | today