uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Danes Mørkøv and Rasmussen look set to gain a bonus lap, though, and throw the race wide open.





04.02.2014 @ 10:00 Posted by Jesper Ralbjerg

Leif Lampater and Marc Hester held on to their lead in the Copenhagen Six-Day on Monday evening.


The men in black cannot rest on their laurels, however. After the dreaded handicap Madison, they were on the lap as Germans Robert Bartko and Marcel Kalz with only seven points separating the two teams. Three-time winners Alex Rasmussen and Michael Mørkøv are still very much in contention, though, as their 283 points all but guarantee that they will win a bonus lap before the final and decisive Madison on Tuesday night. That would put the Danish team in a very favourable position as it seems doubtful that Lampater/Hester and Bartko/Kalz will be able to obtain a bonus lap.  Austrians Andreas Müller and Andreas Graf, who earned enough points yesterday to gain a bonus lap, hold 119 points. All other teams trail by three laps or more.

The German/Danish duo Marcel Barth and Niki Byrgesen won the 75-kilometres handicap Madison that pulled the curtain on the penultimate evening. The handicap Madison started with an avalanche of attacks. At one point 11 teams were in the breakaway while the peloton consisted of barely three teams! Gradually, however, the all-out war fizzled out and became a protracted, predictable and somewhat dull trench warfare. Towards the end of the Madison Mørkøv and Rasmussen twice tried to gain a lap to no avail.


Barth/Byrgesen finished one lap ahead of a group of four teams to take a prestigious and well-deserved win after some tactically smart racing.

Müller and Graf won the team elimination early in the evening while Germans Bartko and Graf continued their trend, won the lap time trial with 12.667 seconds to win the event for the fifth night in succession.


It seems likely that three teams will be in the same lap going into the final Madison tonight with Mørkøv and Rasmussen ahead on points. That should make for an unpredictable final as they will then have to watch out for both Lampater/Hester and Bartko/Kalz who can take turns attacking the Danes.

General classification after day 5:

1 Marc Hester - Leif Lampater 243 points
2 Robert Bartko - Marcel Kalz 236

At 1 lap:
3 Alex Rasmussen - Michael Mørkøv 283
4 Andreas Müller - Andreas Graf 119

At 3 laps:
5 Albert Torres - Vojtech Hacecky 155

At 4 laps:
6 Jesper Mørkøv - Wim Stroetinga 184

At 11 laps:
7 Nick Stöpler - Luke Roberts 80

At 19 laps:
8 Niki Byrgesen - Marcel Barth 114

At 20 laps:
9 Mads Christensen - Tristan Marguet 153

At 21 laps:
10 Guy East - Daniel Holloway 105

At 28 laps:
11 Simon Bigum - Nico Hesslich 105

At 29 laps:
12 Hans Pirius - Sebastian Wotschke 115
13 Melvin Van Zijl - Didier Caspers 54

At 32 laps:
14 Mathias Krigbaum - Vivien Brisse 119

At 36 laps:
15 Martin Hacecky - Achim Burkart 78



Bycykling 101: Navigering i byens gader og cykelvenlige... 27.11.2023 @ 12:11The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21

Currently no news in this list

44 years | today
28 years | today
28 years | today
42 years | today
Shusaku MATSUO
35 years | today