uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

French classics specialists wins the Boucle de l'Aulne to take the 15th win of the FDJ team on home soil this season

Photo: Sirotti






26.05.2013 @ 18:25 Posted by Simon Knudstrup

Mathieu Ladagnous (FDJ) continued a fantastic season by taking his first win in 2013 in today's French one-day race Boucles de l'Aulne. By finishing two seconds ahead of Yannick Martinez (La Pomme Marseille) and Armindo Fonseca (Bretagne), he took the 16th win of his FDJ team on French soil this season to continue a crushing domination by the white-clad team.


Having finished 5th in the Ronde van Vlaanderen and 6th in the Gent-Wevelgem, Matthieu Ladagnous was one of the most solid performers in the cobbled classics this year. After a short mid-season break he returned to competition this weekend and he immediately showed that he is enjoying some of the best form of his life.


Having finished 6th on Saturday in the GP de Plumelec-Morbihac, the Frenchman came out triumphant in the second of the weekend's two races, the Boucles de l'Aulne - races that are often used to gauge the form of the French teams ahead of the Criterium du Dauphine. The win was the 16th of the FDJ team in France this year and the French calendar has been totally dominated by the clover team.


Having been on the attack early on, Ladagnous saved his energy in the peloton for most of the day while four of his teammates joined the day's early break. Arnaud Courteille, Alexandre Geniez, Benoit Vaugrenard and Arthur Vichot joined up with Julien El Fares and Remi Pauriol (Sojasun), Florian Guillou (Bretagne), Yoann Paillot (La Pomme Marseille), Anthony Charteau and Kevin Reza (Europcar), Aleksejs Saramotins (IAM), Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) and Antonio Piedra (Caja Rural) to form a very strong break with a number of climbers all suited to the hilly course.


With 4 laps of the 8,1km finishing circuit still left, the break was, however, brought back and instead another big group moved ahead. Once again Geniez made up a solid FDJ representation in the move that also contained Guillaume Levarlet (Cofidis), Julien Antomarchi (La Pomme Marseille), Jonathan Fumeaux (IAM), Fabien Schmidt (Sojasun), Giovanni Bernadeau (Europcar) and Ruben Fernandez (Caja Rural).


Levarlet attacked in the final laps but was caught by an 17-rider group that had gone clear close to the finish. Ladagnous had played his cards by joining the move and with teammate Kenny Elissonde also present, the FDJ rider enjoyed some solid support.


French sprinter Bryan Coquard (Europcar) was a danger man in the group but the uphill finishing straight was perfectly suited to the powerful Ladagnous. He burst clear to take a convincing win 2 seconds ahead of the remainder of the group while Yannick Martinez and Armindo Fonseca completed the podium. Coquard had to settle for 5th.


The race is part of the season-long Coupe de France competition, and another FDJ rider, Anthony Geslin, finished 2nd in the sprint of the bunch to move himself into the lead in the individual classification while the team is of course far ahead of its rivals in the teams classification.



1. Matthieu Ladagnous 3.57.01

2. Yannick Martinez +0.02

3. Armindo Fonseca

4. Julien Fouchard

5. Bryan Coquard

6. Remi Pauriol

7. Kenny Elissonde

8. Emiel Dolfsma

9. Erwann Corbel

10. Guillaume Levarlet



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

27 years | today
27 years | today
51 years | today
35 years | today
Antoine De HAAN
49 years | today