uses cookies for statistics and targeting ads. This information is shared with third parties.

Every day we bring you more pro-cycling news

Eventually Zakarin was solo, and Sergio Henao (Team Sky) bridged to him with 3.4km to go. Kwiatkowski was unable to maintain contact with the select group behind the duo at about that point.

Photo: A.S.O.






09.04.2015 @ 21:18 Posted by Andy Pedersen

Etixx - Quick-Step rider Tony Martin, who won a road stage of Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco solo in 2014, tried his luck again in 2015 by entering the breakaway at 162.2km Stage 4, but the four-rider breakaway was down to just Martin and Tom Danielson (Cannondale-Garmin) heading into the final kilometers with an advantage fluctuating between 10 and 18 seconds until they were finally caught with 6.8km to go.


Michal Kwiatkowski had been protected by his teammates going into the Usartza, with Michal Golas being the last rider to guide him into the climb. However, a three-rider attack consisting of Ion Izagirre (Movistar), Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha), and LL Sanchez (Astana) led to a high pace in what was left of the select group chasing them on the key climb. Eventually Zakarin was solo, and Sergio Henao (Team Sky) bridged to him with 3.4km to go. Kwiatkowski was unable to maintain contact with the select group behind the duo at about that point.


The group then headed into the last 2.2km of descending, and the duo was caught with 1.7km to go. Only 12 riders maintained in contention for the stage. Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) won, with Bauke Mollema (Trek Factory Racing) 2nd and Simon Yates (Orica-GreenEDGE) 3rd. Kwiatkowski crossed 23" down on the group in 13th place.


Carlos Verona crashed on the downhill on the first of two Category 1 climbs in the stage.  He has scratches on the left side of his body, but he finished the race. The team will closely monitor the situation and any further information will be provided in the next days.


Etixx - Quick-Step looks next to Stage 5 from Eibar to Aia, which is 155.5km in total distance. The penultimate stage, includes a final lap along the parcours of the ITT the next day. This stage includes nine categorized climbs and also the key point of a Category 2 finishing climb. This 1.5km ascent includes ramps between 12 and 17 percent, with the 17 percent being the last portion of the climb.



The Best Danish Cyclist To Bet On At 2022 Tour De France 13.01.2022 @ 15:262022 Upcoming Tournament Overview 03.01.2022 @ 09:45Best Place to Find Stand-Up Paddleboards 16.06.2021 @ 08:16What are Primoz Roglic’s Chances to Win 2021 Tour de Fr... 17.03.2021 @ 08:37Amazing victory by young champion Sarah Gigante 04.02.2021 @ 14:21Three reasons why cycling is one of the best ways to ex... 28.09.2020 @ 12:03Why do businesses use meeting room managers? 14.09.2020 @ 13:42Five things that you can do, if you want to gain more f... 20.08.2020 @ 15:38One for the road 09.06.2020 @ 15:25List of CyclingQuotes previews 07.05.2020 @ 13:20Blue Energy: room for all interests 26.08.2019 @ 12:56Get your daily dose of exercise at home 08.07.2019 @ 10:443 good advice to be able to afford your favorite bike 25.02.2019 @ 12:32Cycle through gorgeous landscapes 22.10.2018 @ 21:41Balance Your Economy and Diet and Start Saving Money 08.10.2018 @ 11:18Stay Safe: 3 Helmets That Can Keep Your Head Protected... 20.07.2018 @ 07:59Planning to bet on Tour De France - Bet types and strat... 24.05.2018 @ 14:18Basics of cycling betting 25.10.2017 @ 13:10Bauer moves to ORICA-SCOTT 28.08.2017 @ 10:45End of the road for CyclingQuotes 08.01.2017 @ 16:00Rui Costa confirms Giro participation 07.01.2017 @ 12:55Van Avermaet: I am not afraid of Sagan 07.01.2017 @ 09:45Unchanged course for E3 Harelbeke 07.01.2017 @ 09:32Jenner takes surprise win at Australian U23 Championships 07.01.2017 @ 08:53No replacement for Meersman at Fortuneo-Vital Concept 06.01.2017 @ 19:14Barguil with two goals in 2017 06.01.2017 @ 19:06More details about French Vuelta start emerges 06.01.2017 @ 14:16Kristoff to start season at Etoile de Besseges 06.01.2017 @ 14:10Ion Izagirre announces schedule for first year at Bahrain 06.01.2017 @ 12:40JLT Condor optimistic for Herald Sun Tour 06.01.2017 @ 09:19Haas leads Dimension Data trio in fight for Australian... 06.01.2017 @ 09:15Sagan spearheads Bora-hansgrohe at Tour Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:12Henao and Thomas lead Sky Down Under 06.01.2017 @ 09:09Bauer crowned New Zealand TT champion 06.01.2017 @ 08:33Van der Poel ready to defend Dutch title 05.01.2017 @ 21:00Pantano ambitious for first Tour with Trek 05.01.2017 @ 20:41Landa with new approach to the Giro 05.01.2017 @ 20:36Sunweb Development Team sign Goos and Zepuntke 05.01.2017 @ 20:27Dumoulin confirms Giro participation 05.01.2017 @ 20:19Bauer targets victories in Quick-Step debut 05.01.2017 @ 20:16Gaviria and Boonen lead Quick-Step in San Juan 05.01.2017 @ 20:13Team Sunweb presented in Germany 05.01.2017 @ 20:09ASO take over major German WorldTour race 05.01.2017 @ 11:01Team Sunweb unveil new jersey 05.01.2017 @ 10:54Reactions from the Australian TT Championships 05.01.2017 @ 08:27Dennis defends Australian TT title 05.01.2017 @ 08:21Scotson takes back to back U23 TT titles in Australia 05.01.2017 @ 08:15Utrecht on track to host 2020 Vuelta 04.01.2017 @ 18:28Pre-season setback for Talansky 04.01.2017 @ 17:56Kristoff: It's not impossible for me to win in Rou... 04.01.2017 @ 17:49Boom close to first cyclo-cross win in LottoNL debut 04.01.2017 @ 17:40UAE Abu Dhabi make late signing of Arab rider 04.01.2017 @ 17:36UAE Abu Dhabi unveil new jersey 04.01.2017 @ 17:30BMC unveil race schedule 04.01.2017 @ 17:21Androni sign Costa Rican super talent 04.01.2017 @ 17:13

Currently no news in this list

28 years | today
37 years | today
24 years | today
Sethomo MASEPE
27 years | today
44 years | today